Industry Analysis
Industry Classification
- Business Company Dossier (NexisUni)LexisNexis Company Dossier seamlessly integrates with LexisNexis Academic and delivers instant desktop access to extensive, current data on more than 35 million private and public companies in U.S. and worldwide
When you are doing an Industry Analysis it often helps to locate the SIC (Standard Industrial Code) or the NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) numbers. A good way to find an SIC or NAICS number is to look for a company in your field in this Database:
When you run a search in this database, you can find the Industry codes on the first page
Click on the SIC Code link to bring up an Industry Overview
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
- S&P Capital IQ Global NetAdvantageS&P CAPITAL IQ IS NOW WORKING. CLEAR YOUR BROWSING HISTORY BEFORE USING IT.
Provides web access to S&P's public company and industry financial and investment data.
S&P Capital IQ Global Advantage (formerly Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage) provides web access to S&P's suite of U.S. public company and industry financial and investment data, including: Industry Surveys of 50+ U.S. industries; Stock Reports for 7,000 public companies and closed-end funds; Mutual Fund reports for 12,000+ funds (updated monthly); Bond guide covering 9,000 issues (updated monthly); 22,000 dividends; quarterly and annual earnings estimates for 5,000 U.S.traded stocks (updated monthly; Corporation records for 12,600 publicly held U.S., Canadian, and international companies (updated monthly); Directory information for 100,000 public and private U.S. and international companies; Directory of 4,500 brokers/dealers.
BELOW FIND TWO HELP GUIDES TO USING THE S&P GLOBAL ADVANTAGE INTERFACE
Marketline
- Marketline Advantage User GuideA guide to the newly revised Marketline Advantage interface. The last page includes links to Additional User Guides and Video Tutorials
United States Economic Data
The Census Bureau Economic Statistics
Includes
- Every five years (2002, 2007, 2012, etc.) for every industry.
- Statistics for U.S., states, metro areas, counties, and cities.
- Monthly and quarterly for selected sectors.
- National statistics only.
- Annually for selected sectors.
- National statistics, primarily.
- Featured Sites:
FAITS
- FAITSMore than 1200 clearly written reports covering all of the most important technology areas.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies
This is a very useful source for the business of IT
FAITS offers a broad range of reports plus vendor directories and a
comprehensive glossary of IT and related terms.
➤ Marketplace reports offer an excellent way to stay current on all
the latest trends and advances in the IT and communications
market segments you care about.
➤ Product Profile reports provide a concise summary of the
leading products and suppliers, examine product strengths
and limitations, and analyze current pricing strategies.
➤ Company Profile reports review business goals, sales and
marketing strategies, and financial stability of the leading vendors.
