Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion: Websites

American Religion Data Archive

American Religion Data Archive

ARDA is an Internet-based data archive that stores and distributes data sets from leading studies on American Religion.
 

Also check the 2010 U.S. Religion Census: Religious Congregations & Membership Study

REF BL 2525.A15 2010, produced by ARDA.

Papal Encyclicals Online

Papal Encyclicals Online

A Catholic layman created this site to keep important Catholic documents readily available. He maintains and supports this site, which provides papal encyclicals and other Catholic Church documents from 1226 to the present. It is currently the most complete Web site for these materials. Papal encyclicals and other documents may be browsed by Pope or searched by keyword.Includes thefull text of papal encyclicals, apostolic letters, apostolic constitutions, apostolic exhortations, and other Papal communications

Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life

Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life

Information on Relgion and Public Life from the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan, non-advocacy organization.
The Forum functions as both an information clearinghouse and a town hall. As a clearinghouse it tracks and aggregates news and conducts independent research, including surveys, legal backgrounders, reports, books and Q&A interviews. As a town hall, it provides a neutral venue for discussion. In these roles, the Forum serves as an important information resource for political leaders, journalists, scholars and public interest groups.

The Forum focuses on four key areas of research:

Religion and Politics
The Forum’s polling, publications and events focus on the influence of religion and religious organizations on political behavior, including voting and campaigns.

Religion and the Law
The Forum analyzes church-state controversies such as recent Supreme Court battles over the Ten Commandments, the Pledge of Allegiance and school vouchers.

Religion and Domestic Policy
The Forum examines a wide range of policy debates – from abortion and gay marriage to stem cell research and faith-based initiatives.

Religion and World Affairs
The Forum explores the integral role religion plays in world affairs, with a particular focus on religion’s impact on U.S. foreign policy.

Catechism of the Catholic Church

The Catechism of the Catholic Church

The Catechism serves several important functions:

  1. It conveys the essential and fundamental content of Catholic faith and morals in a complete and summary way.
  2. It is a point of reference for national and diocesan catechisms.
  3. It is a positive, objective and declarative exposition of Catholic doctrine.
  4. It is intended to assist those who have the duty to catechize, namely promoters and teachers of catechesis.

ATLA Collaborative Digital Resources

ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources

Searchable central repository of digital resources contributed by American Theological Library Association libraries. The CDRI database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.