It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Summon, our Web Scale Discovery software, allows you to easily find content in e-Reference books. It does not cover ALL our e-Reference books, but most are covered.
The box above allows you to search Summon for only reference material. You may want to add further filters, such as date and discipline (look at the left hand column). Remember that you will turn up both kinds of reference article, the short kind and the more detailed kind. Also in some cases you will not be directed to the specific article, but rather to the homepage of the reference book. Just search the topic you want (it will be on the sidebar to the right) and you will find the article.
Selected e-Reference Books
There are many excellent e-Reference books available at Connelly Library. You can discover them in a number of ways. Use the search box above or browse through the collections to the right. Below find a selection of our e-Reference books. More are highlighted on this guides homepage
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation. (1 simultaneous user)
The American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years.
Enter a name in the Quick Search box (at top right and on every page) to get started; browse by name; or use the advanced search to find people by realm of renown, life dates, or birthplace. Please be aware that there is only 1 simultaneous user. If you get a message that there are no more logins for this database, try again in a few minutes.
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. The online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica has hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
Real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment. Includes 25,000 pages of major reference works.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a landmark database that, when complete, will contain more than 2,000 transcripts of actual therapy sessions, 40,000 pages of first-person accounts, and 25,000 pages of major reference works. There will be diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of the sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.
The database opens a world of primary sources for therapists, clients, and students to explore and analyze. New methods of research in fields as diverse as anthropology, linguistics, and English literature are now possible.
Personal accounts by clients and records of their therapy experiences are not widely available, leaving researchers with only periodical articles and textbooks. But the journal and text materials present only case studies, which focus on proving a hypothesis or teaching a particular disorder, rarely offering the candid voice of the client. Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works fills the gap at last, bringing the value of primary narratives to scholars and practicing therapists alike.
Features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.
Credo is a vast online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and full in-depth articles.
Current Biography Illustrated offers the content of the printed monthly magazine Current Biography, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, in searchable, electronic format
Readers will be able to find accurate, up-to-date biographies drawing information from newspaper articles, magazine articles, and books. Students and patrons can search by name, profession, place of origin, gender, ethnicity, birth/death dates, titles of works and key words for more than 25,000 articles and obituaries.
In addition, profiles maintained in this database feature more than 19,500 images, and offer the subject's own views, attitudes and commentary as well as the commentaries of other journalists and colleagues.
Features more than 4,200 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles.
•Topic browse spanning the life sciences from cell biology to ecology
•Topic coverage reviewed by a distinguished international scientific advisory team
•Overviews and Suggested Articles to help students learn about topics
•Key Concepts explaining critical learning points for the reader
•Open availability of Abstracts, Key Concepts and Keywords
•Open availability of high-quality illustrations
•Open availability of References and Further Reading
•In-text hyperlinks directly linking related eLS articles
•New and updated articles added on a monthly basis
•Updated articles clearly linked to earlier versions
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories
An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past
(1 simultaneous user)
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. It is overseen by academic editors at Oxford University, UK, and published by Oxford University Press.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find these in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to films scripts and cookery books.
SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content making this the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. This expansive collection includes:
•Reference works including handbooks and encyclopedias
•Professional development titles
•Textbooks – core and supplementary
•Major works series
E-reference collection covering Literature (the Critical Insights series) , History (the Decades Encyclopedias, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History) Health (Infectious Diseases, Magill's Medical Guide 7thed., Psychology and Mental Health) and Science (Forensic Science, Environmental Issues)