Connelly Library

The Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War Collection–the largest of its kind in the world–provides a body of evidence demonstrating how creative interpretations of the Vietnam War, and the highly volatile era in which it took place, continue to evolve and influence perceptions of American popular culture. The Collection focuses on works of fictive and documentary expression; sources include novels, poetry, literary and publisher archives, artwork, films, music, and ephemera.

Read an essay on the content and research uses of the Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War Collection. 

Literary Archives at La Salle

La Salle University's Special Collections holds the literary archives of prominent Vietnam War writers, including:

D. F. Brown (collection currently being processed)

W. D. Ehrhart

Wayne Karlin (collection finding aid in progress)

Richard Levine 

Doug Rawlings

If you would like to access these literary archives, please email Special Collections Librarian, Dr. Heather Willever-Farr (willeverfarr@lasalle.edu).

Small Press Archives at La Salle

First Casualty Press Archives 

Material relating to three important anthologies edited by Jan Barry:  "Winning hearts and minds : war poems by Vietnam Veterans" (1972) / edited by Larry Rottmann, Jan Barry, and Basil T. Paquet; "Demilitarized zones : veterans after Vietnam" (1976) / edited by Jan Barry and W.D. Ehrhart; and "Peace is our profession : poems and passages of war protest" (1981) / edited by Jan Barry. 

Archives of the Viet Nam Generation journal (1988-1998) with material from its allied newsletter (1988-1992) and the Burning Cities Press. 

Many scholars have leveraged material from the Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War Collection for their books.  Below is a partial list of these books.