Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public History -- Philadelphia and the United States: Audio / Visual Materials

Philadelphia Documentaries in Films on Demand

Additionally, there are several Philadelphia documentaries in the Films on Demand database, including the following titles:

  • Cira Center
  • Decaying Cities
  • Housing America: Demographics and Development
  • Let the Doors be of Iron

Access the database here!  To find these specific films, change the drop down menu that says "Search by Segments" to "Search by Titles."  Then enter the title from above that you are interested in.

Films Media Group

Films on Demand:digital educational video

Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Includes more than 10,000 films in the following general categories: humanities and social science; business and economics; science and mathematics; health and medicine; technical education; family and consumer science; careers and job search; and guidance and counseling.

Logging in

Always login to Connelly Library resources via the Library Homepage.  Do NOT go through the Portal.  There have been problems with accesssing subscription databases from the Portal.

Since all our subscription electronic resources are authenticated by using IP address recognition it is necessary to submit a username and password when using the off-campus, since you are then NOT on a La Salle IP address.

When you first choose one of our databases during a search session, you will be prompted to put in your MyLasalle (i.e. Portal) password. Use whatever you normally use to access My LaSalle (i.e. the Portal).

Library Videos

To find out what videos the library owns, use the library catalog.  You can search by keyword and limit your search to video collections as shown in the example below:

Internet Archive

Internet Movie Archive

This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.   The Prelinger Archives are particularly interesting for American Studies.