Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biblical Research: Finding Articles

JSTOR

JSTOR

JSTOR is a collection of full-text, keyword-searchable academic journals dating back to the late 17th century. Full text is available up to the last 3 - 5 years for most titles (Moving Wall). JSTOR allows browsing by title or by discipline(s) , and full text searching of individual titles or the entire collection. Disciplines covered include Religion

 

ATLA Religion Database

 

Citations from International titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of Religion. Also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949 - present.

ATLA Religion Index is directly linked with the ATLAS database of Full Text periodicals.  Be sure to use the PDF links rather than the GIF links.  Printing is easiest from the PDF.

Please note that BOOKS are included in this database. Check the Connelly Library Catalog under the book title to see if we have a book.  If we do not, use EZ Borrow to obtain it.

Scripture Citation searching tips:

You can search ATLA for articles concerning specific Scripture Citations. Click on the Scriptures link on the ATLA toolbar.  All the books of the Bible will display.  Click on Expand to view and choose the Chapter and verse of the Book of the Bible you want

You can stop anywhere through the index - for instance by clicking Genesis or Exodus in the above example, you would search all articles on those particular books of the Bible.  Or if you keep expanding you can stop at the Chapter or the Verse section

 

Click on the desired Verse to run the search and see your results