LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Databases

CINAHL

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles about nursing, allied health, biomedical, consumer health journals, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets
View a video on Searching Cinahl here: https://vimeo.com/403791714

Full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL
Indexing for more than 5,000 Journals
Searchable Cited References for more than 1,460 journals
Author Affiliations
Full text dating back to 1937
Deep full text for a number of titles
More than 3.9 million records dating back to 1937
Over 130 Evidence-based Care Sheets
Nearly 170 Quick Lessons providing Overviews of Disease and Conditions
170 Continuing Education Modules
Full text for 360 Research Instrument Records

For those citations which are not fulltext, use L ibKey to get the item or request an Interlibrary Loan.

PubMed

PubMed (La Salle) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

This (and only this) version of PubMed is connected with the Connelly Library holdings. It is the link you should use to have quick access to our full text . Look for the LibKey icon on the top right of the citations. If we do not own the article, you can request an ILL using LibKey

We STRONGLY urge all PubMed users to install LibKey Nomad -- it works perfectly with PubMed and will make getting your articles much easier!

Search Summon for Medical and Nursing content only

This Search Box allows you to search only medical and nursing materials in Summon. You can search ALL subjects simultaneously in Summon here

Essential Nursing Collection

Please note that all the journals in this database are fully indexed in Cinahl and linked via LibKeyhttps://library.lasalle.edu/research/libkey. There are also limitations on simultaneous users. If you get a message saying that all logins are in use, try again later. When using an OVID Essential Nursing title, be sure to logoff when finished.

MedPix

MedPix This link opens in a new window
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images

MEDLINE

Medline (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
The premier medical abstracts database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Medline is the premier medical abstracts database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Journal articles are indexed for Medline, and their citations are searchable, using the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. NOT FULLTEXT - must use LibKey
Please be aware that this is the same database as PubMed - see box to the left.

Using MEDLINE will give you access to LibKey, which will provide information on whether or not Connelly Library owns an item and can immediately request an ILL if we do not.