LibGuides: Historical Newspapers and Magazines: Recent Newspapers

Recent Newspapers

E-Journal Portal

The E-Journal portal is used to find what electronic periodicals are available through Connelly Library. It includes both subscribed and open access periodicals. It includes periodicals of all types: Journals, Magazines and Newspapers.

You can search by periodical title, words in periodical title or ISSN number
You can also browse periodicals by TITLE or SUBJECT
E-Journal Portal is not used to search a topic by subject - for that you need to use an index such as Summon or a subject specific database. However you can search within a particular periodical. So you can search on a newspaper title and then search within the newspaper. This search uses the Summon search.
You CAN search specific articles by DOI or PubMed ID (PMID) Number

We have a guide showing in more detail how to use the E-Journal Portal

Most newspapers are now available online. Newspapers began to be created online in the early 1980s and many major newspapers, including the New York Times, The Washington Post, the Wall Street Journal and the Philadelphia Inquirer go back to that time. Many newspapers can be quickly searched using Summon. Below find a search widget allowing you to search the newspapers found in the NexisUni and ProQuest databases. There is also a link to the e-Journal Portal, which allows you to search inside a specific newspaper.

U.S. Major Dailies
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. The content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1980.
The New York Times (1980-present) - the paper of record in the U.S., best known for its analysis of news, issues and social changes.
Wall Street Journal (1984-present) - the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting.
Washington Post (1987-present) - has distinguished itself through its reporting on international politics and policy, security and all facets of the U.S. government.
Los Angeles Times (1985-present) - the perspective of the American West, lauded for its coverage of immigration, entertainment, and environmental.
Chicago Tribune (1985-present) - keeping readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism, earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents.

Services

Faculty

Special Collections

About

Research Hub

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

Recent Newspapers

E-Journal Portal

You can also browse periodicals by TITLE or SUBJECT

Chat Assistance

Connelly Library