La Salle University: Connelly Library

Richard Eric Johnson lives and writes poetry in Arlington, Virginia. He has authored four full-length poetry collections, and his poetry has appeared in numerous journals. Eric is also a Pushcart nominee. He is a graduate of Indiana University with a B.A. in Germanic Languages and an M.S. in Education. After a tour in Vietnam and West Berlin, he embarked on a career as a public servant.

Johnson's published books include: 

Of Museums, Monsoons and Mausoleums —Mellen Poetry Press, 1998
Schemes of Consciousness —Mellen Poetry Press, 2004
Memoir Poetic of a Naked Cop —2013
Watching Angels Dance By Candlelight —2019

The Department of Special Collections preserves the literary archive of Johnson's writings about the Vietnam War and other topics. This literary archive is part of the larger Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War collection. For research assistance with the Richard Levine papers, please contact Dr. Heather Willever-Farr, Special Collections Librarian (willeverfarr@lasalle.edu).

Please use the below link to explore the finding aid for the Richard Eric Johnson Papers. 

The Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War Collection is the largest collection of literary and creative works on the Vietnam War in the world; comprising over 20,000 books of fiction and poetry together with more than 1,000 non-print items. Housed in the Department of Special Collections in the Connelly Library, the Vietnam War Collection serves as a growing repository of works concerned with the experience of the Vietnam War. In addition to the extensive holdings of published literature and feature films, the Collection also houses a number of archival collections, literary manuscripts, and original works of art.   

Pictured above: "Burn." The "Nam vol. 1, no. 75 (Dec. 1992). Marvel Comics Group : Cover.