On Reference Sources
Reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopedia, handbooks, atlases etc. exist to give you a good starting place for research. They can be found on the first floor of the library, just beyond the circular computer carrels. Since the Reference collection is fairly compact, it lends itself to browsing in a way that the larger circulating collection does not.
Decade-Specific Reference
The 1960s by Call Number: E169.12 .R53 2003 REFERENCE 1ST FLOORISBN: 0313312613Publication Date: 2003-05-30
American Decades Primary Sources by Call Number: E169.1 .A471977 2003 v. 7 REFERENCEISBN: 0787665940Publication Date: 2003-12-05Also available online to La Salle University students
American Decades, 1960-1969 by Call Number: E169.12 .A419 1994 v. 7 (1960-69)ISBN: 0810388839Publication Date: 1994-12-12Also available online to La Salle University students
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms by Call Number: E169.1 .B7825 2002 v. 4 REFERENCEISBN: 0787656755Publication Date: 2002-07-19Also available online to La Salle University students
All-American Ads of the 60s by Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A65 2002 REFERENCEISBN: 3822811599Publication Date: 2002-12-01
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising by Call Number: HF5803 .A38 2003 REFERENCEISBN: 1579581722Publication Date: 2002-11-22
E-Reference
The Connelly Library has been creating a collection of electronic versions of Reference Books for a number of years.
These e-books are an excellent place to start doing research on a subject. The articles you can find in them will give you background information, provide ideas for narrowing or refocussing your search and usually include a list of further readings which will give you a good start on finding the best material available on your topic. For a complete list of databases please visit the Library website.
ABC-CLIO e-Book collection is a growing collection of reference books on many different subjects. All the titles can also be found in the catalog. You can search across titles or browse the collection.
A great collection of searchable e-reference books.
Relevant subject areas include Religion, Philosophy, Social Sciences, History, Art, and more! New titles are regularly added.
Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. Includes: the Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series. Be sure to browse the 1960s and 1970s.
Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects. Check out the "Mind Map" feature to explore topics in depth.
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. Try searching for topic pages such as "Pacifism."
Search American National Biography for portraits of more than 17,400 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation.
In addition to articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, the Reference Center contains Britannica Online's collection of multimedia, Web links, magazine and journal articles from both EBSCO and ProQuest, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Pop-up dictionary definitions have audio pronunciations. Research Tools include World Data Analyst (country maps and profiles); a collection of more than 4,000 quotations; and Gateway to the Classics, containing 225 selections of "the great ideas and writing of the Western World" as well as a time line and a Year in Review browse. Country comparison (for any two countries); 200 full-length videos; the Britannica Blog (interviews with academics and discussions about history, politics, technology, and popular culture). Among the daily features are a biography and news from the New York Times and BBC News.
