LibGuides: HathiTrust: Home

What is the HathiTrust?

HathiTrust (Public Domain within US only)
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository that includes over 10 million volumes from partner library collections, digitized as part of the Google Books project, the Internet Archive project, or by individual partner libraries. La Salle University is not a HathiTrust partner institution, which places restrictions on what we can download and/or print.
The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, with more than 2.7 million titles in the public domain that may be viewed online. La Salle University is not a HathiTrust partner institution, which places restrictions on what we can download and/or print.

The HathiTrust collection is full-text searchable, with more than 2.7 million titles in the public domain that may be viewed online.

La Salle University is not a HathiTrust partner institution, which places restrictions on what we can download and/or print.

Currently Digitized

11,412,713 total volumes
5,888,921 book titles
297,247 serial titles
3,994,449,550 pages
512 terabytes
135 miles
9,273 tons
3,978,007 volumes(~35% of total) in the public domain

View visualizations of HathiTrust call numbers, languages, and dates

statistics information ››

What does the name mean?

Hathi (pronounced hah-tee) is the Hindi word for elephant, an animal highly regarded for its memory, wisdom, and strength. Trust is a core value of research libraries and one of their greatest assets. In combination, the words convey the key benefits researchers can expect from a first-of-its-kind shared digital repository.