LibGuides: Nutrition: Databases

Databases

CINAHL

CINAHL Complete
Provides articles about nursing, allied health, biomedical, consumer health journals, and publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets
View a video on Searching Cinahl here: https://vimeo.com/403791714

Full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL
Indexing for more than 5,000 Journals
Searchable Cited References for more than 1,460 journals
Author Affiliations
Full text dating back to 1937
Deep full text for a number of titles
More than 3.9 million records dating back to 1937
Over 130 Evidence-based Care Sheets
Nearly 170 Quick Lessons providing Overviews of Disease and Conditions
170 Continuing Education Modules
Full text for 360 Research Instrument Records

For those citations which are not fulltext, useLibKey to get the item or request an Interlibrary Loan.

MEDLINE

Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index.
Includes thousands of records with substantial abstracts. NOT FULLTEXT - must use LibKey
Please be aware that this is the same database as PubMed - see box to the left.

Using MEDLINE will give you access to LibKey, which will provide information on whether or not Connelly Library owns an item and can immediately request an ILL if we do not.

PubMed

PubMed (La Salle)
PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

This (and only this) version of PubMed is connected with the Connelly Library holdings. It is the link you should use to have quick access to our full text . Look for the LibKey icon on the top right of the citations. If we do not own the article, you can request an ILL using LibKey

Find more help using PubMed here

We STRONGLY urge all PubMed users to install LibKey Nomad -- it works perfectly with PubMed and will make getting your articles much easier!

Essential Nursing Collection

The Essential Nursing Collection from YourJournals@Ovid 50major nursing journals are searchable full text in this database. Please note that all of the journals in this database are loaded with links to the full text in the library's catalog. They are also all fully indexed with article level links in the Cinahl database.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Here is a video showing how to use CQ Researcher

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.

Services

Faculty

Special Collections

About

Research Hub

Nutrition