Facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources

NCJRS offers substance abuse and justice information that supports research, program development, and policy. It is federally funded.

This website offers a significant amount of statistical data including crime statistics, Death Row demographic data, and reports about the application of the death penalty on a national, as well as state-by-state, level. The site was established, and is maintained by, the Death Penalty Information Center which opposes the death penalty.

This site provides a statistical overview of the federal prison system.

Sponsored by the United States Sentencing Commission, this site lists sentencing statistics by circuit court and state.

"Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of approximately 50,000 8th, 10th and 12th grade students are surveyed (12th graders since 1975, and 8th and 10th graders since 1991)."

The NACJD is a special topic archive of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan. NACJD acquires, archives, processes, and provides access to electronic criminal justice data collections for research and instruction. The NACJD Web site provides downloadable access to hundreds of criminal justice data collections free of charge.

This organization provides support for, and a vehicle for disseminating, scientific research on drug addiction

"The Prison Policy Initiative documents the impact of mass incarceration on individuals, communities, and the national welfare in order to empower the public to improve criminal justice policy."

Four annual publications, Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics are produced from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program.

BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. It is one of the thirteen principal federal statistical agencies throughout the Executive Branch, agencies whose activities are predominantly focused on the collection, compilation, processing, or analysis of information for statistical purposes.

The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. BJS also provides financial and technical support to state, local, and tribal governments to improve both their statistical capabilities and the quality and utility of their criminal history records.

The National Center for State Courts is an independent, nonprofit court improvement organization founded at the urging of Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Warren E. Burger. He envisioned NCSC as a clearinghouse for research information and comparative data to support improvement in judicial administration in state courts.

"The collateral consequences of a criminal conviction—legal sanctions and restrictions imposed upon people because of their criminal record—are hard to find and harder to understand. . . Congress directed the National Institute of Justice to collect and study collateral consequences in all U.S. jurisdictions, and NIJ selected the ABA Criminal Justice Section to perform the necessary research and analysis. The results are now being made available through this interactive tool."

Offers in-depth, non-partisan research and analysis on criminal sentencing and prison administration.

Excellent site that contains numerous CJ-related internet resources. Created by the Lloyd Sealy Library at John Jay College (CUNY)

Offers reports and data on "sentencing inequities" and the development of sentencing alternatives.

This site provides links to international law enforcement issues.