Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Finding Articles

LibKey

LibKey is a new service from Connelly Library of La Salle University that simplifies access to library-licensed and open access journal articles.  If we do not own or have access to the journal articles, it will pass you on to our ILL system.

LibKey in Summon

LibKey Discovery integrates LibKey into Summon to provide one-click access to the full text of library-licensed and open access articles.

When you find an article in Summon for which full text is available through Connelly Library subscriptions or an Open Access source, you will see a Download Now link. Click on the link to download the full text.

There is also frequently an option to view the table of contents of the journal issue in which the article appears. Very useful for browsing an issue! You will also notice the covers of the journals appear, letting you quickly see what is showing up in your search.

LibKey in Summon

In Other Databases

You will now see the LibKey icon showing up where you used to see the Article Locator icon

In EBSCOhost databases.  You will be linked to the full text if available – if not you will be given the opportunity of submitting an ILL:

LibKey in Ebsco

Search Summon for History Topics

Use this box to search Summon for books, articles etc. only on History.  For a broader search use the Summon tab.

JSTOR

Currently (2020-June 2021) includes the ENTIRE JSTOR database - this is the year to use it.

Interdisciplinary Databases

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for the Chrome, Firefox, and Edge web browsers.

Go to this page to watch a short video and download the extension for the browser you use.

Once you install it, you can use it to download full text articles to which we subscribe, from any publisher website where you find them. (Otherwise you would need to go to the library website to access the full text if you are off campus.)

When the full text PDF is available to you, you will see a LibKey Download PDF icon in the bottom left corner of the page.

If not, you will see a button labeled Access Options which will direct you to our Interlibrary Loan system.

LibKey Nomad Download Icon LibKey Nomad Access Options Icon