Connelly Library Resources
About James (Jim) Talone
James (“Jim”) Talone is a decorated veteran, an educator, and a writer. He was a US Marines officer from 1967 to 1970 and was stationed in Vietnam during 1968. Jim spent 9 months with Bravo 1/9, Third Marine Division, a unit that earned the nickname “The Walking Dead.” He earned a Silver Star Medal for "gallantry in action."
After serving in the Marines, Jim became a teacher in Pennsylvania. He taught English and video at Radnor High School from 1970 to 1999. After retiring from Randnor, he spent 10 years at the Delaware Valley School.
In addition to being an educator, Jim is a writer and film maker. He has written and directed documentary and creative films, including <i>A Light in Darkness</i> (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUp0eEs1yTE). His memoir, <i>There it Is</i>, was published in 2021, and he shares his poetry on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZG-DonCr0s ; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJ6geTDdjmQ).
Archival & Manuscript Material
The Department of Special Collections preserves James Talone's papers related to the Vietnam War. These papers are part of the larger Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War collection. For research assistance with the Richard Levine papers, please contact Dr. Heather Willever-Farr, Special Collections Librarian (willeverfarr@lasalle.edu).
Please use the below link to explore the finding aid for the James Talone Papers.
Books in Special Collections
-
There It Is
by
ISBN: 9798494807441Publication Date: 2021-10-12The title "There it Is" refers to a phrase used by Marine grunts up along the DMZ in the worst year of the war, 1968. Hue, Dong Ha, Tet, Route 9, the Rockpile, LZ Stud, and Khe Sanh were some of the places we fought. This book is a memoir of the author's year as a Marine Lieutenant in charge of a platoon in combat for 9 months. There was plenty of blood and death but there was also growth and compassion and connection as we became our own band of brothers. It is about the moments when the bullets flew, but it is also about the quiet times, the land we walked, the chow we ate. It is mostly about the 18-year old grunts with all the courage in the world. There it is.
Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War
The Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War Collection is the largest collection of literary and creative works on the Vietnam War in the world; comprising over 20,000 books of fiction and poetry together with more than 1,000 non-print items. Housed in the Department of Special Collections in the Connelly Library, the Vietnam War Collection serves as a growing repository of works concerned with the experience of the Vietnam War. In addition to the extensive holdings of published literature and feature films, the Collection also houses a number of archival collections, literary manuscripts, and original works of art.
Pictured above: "Burn." The "Nam vol. 1, no. 75 (Dec. 1992). Marvel Comics Group : Cover.