Richard Levine Papers

Richard Levine is an award-winning poet and a teacher.  He served with the Third Marine Division in Vietnam, 1967-68. 

Learn more about Richard Levine by visiting his personal website  

The Department of Special Collections preserves the literary archive of Levine's writings about the Vietnam War and other topics. This literary archive is part of the larger Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War collection. For research assistance with the Richard Levine papers, please contact Dr. Heather Willever-Farr, Special Collections Librarian (willeverfarr@lasalle.edu).

Please use the below link to explore the finding aid for the Richard Levine Papers. 

In addition to writing poetry, Richard Levine writes and sings songs under the pseudonym, Preston Hollow.  Audiovideo recordings of two of his songs are available on YouTube:   

Judge Roberts: One Man, One Women, One Vote  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WKy8Wq_sI64

The Talkin' Frackin' Blues   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QCrTfxOBRo      

An audio recording of his song, The Fourth of July, can be downloaded below.                                      

The Imaginative Representations of the Vietnam War Collection is the largest collection of literary and creative works on the Vietnam War in the world; comprising over 20,000 books of fiction and poetry together with more than 1,000 non-print items. Housed in the Department of Special Collections in the Connelly Library, the Vietnam War Collection serves as a growing repository of works concerned with the experience of the Vietnam War. In addition to the extensive holdings of published literature and feature films, the Collection also houses a number of archival collections, literary manuscripts, and original works of art.   

Pictured above: "Burn." The "Nam vol. 1, no. 75 (Dec. 1992). Marvel Comics Group : Cover.