Special Collections
The Susan Dunleavy Collection of Biblical Literature
The Susan Dunleavy Collection of Biblical Literature in the Connelly Library’s Department of Special Collections is comprised of over one thousand pieces; from illuminated manuscripts of the Renaissance to modern fine-press publications.
An early vision for the Collection, which began as a memorial collection in La Salle’s University Art Museum in 1978, was to use the Collection as a resource for the study of religious art; developing a rich resource of representations of central biblical accounts from different periods in the history of Western man since the Renaissance. Today, the Collection affords us countless illustrations to study and enjoy.
Reference Books in the Dunleavy Collection
The Bible in 20th century art / introduced by Nicholas UsherwoodCall Number: DUNLEAVY N8020 .B52 1987 FOLIOPublication Date: London : Pagoda, 1987
Christian symbols / drawn by Rudolf Koch ; with the collaboration of Fritz Kredel ; translated by Kevin AhernCall Number: DUNLEAVY N7831 .K613 1996 FOLIOPublication Date: San Francisco : Arion Press, c1996
Christ's image / text by Marcelle Auclair ; translated from the French by Lionel Izod ; illustrations selected by Michel Déon ; book design by Sonja KnappCall Number: DUNLEAVY N8050 .A683 1965Publication Date: New York : Tudor Pub. Co., 1965, c1961
Early Bible illustrations : a short study based on some fifteenth and early sixteenth century printed texts / James StrachanCall Number: DUNLEAVY N8023 .S8Publication Date: Cambridge [Eng.] : University Press, 1957
The Gospel story in art, by John La Farge; with eighty full page platesCall Number: DUNLEAVY N8050 .L2Publication Date: New York, The Macmillan Co., 1913
His face : images of Christ in art : selections from the King James version of the Bible / edited by Marion WheelerCall Number: DUNLEAVY N8050 .H57 1996 FOLIOPublication Date: New York : Smithmark, 1996, c1988
The history, principles and practice of symbolism in Christian art / by F. Edward HulmeCall Number: DUNLEAVY N7830 .H8 1899Publication Date: London : Swan Sonnenschein ; New York : Macmillan, 1899
An illustrated life of Jesus : from the National Gallery of Art collection / Richard I. Abrams, Warner A. HutchinsonCall Number: DUNLEAVY N8050 .A25 1982Publication Date: Nashville : Abingdon, c1982
Representing belief : religion, art, and society in nineteenth-century France / Michael Paul DriskelCall Number: DUNLEAVY N6847 .D75 1992Publication Date: University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State University Press, c1992
Sacred art in a secular century / Horton Davies and Hugh DaviesCall Number: DUNLEAVY N7880 .D39 1978Publication Date: Collegeville, Minn. : The Liturgical Press, 1978
The face of Christ / Denis ThomasCall Number: DUNLEAVY N8050 .T555 FOLIOPublication Date: Garden City, N.Y. : Doubleday, c1979
