Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication: e-Reference

Using Summon to Find e-Reference

Summon, our Web Scale Discovery software, allows you to easily find content in e-Reference books.  It does not cover ALL our e-Reference books, but most are covered.

The box above allows you to search Summon for only reference material.  You may want to add further filters, such as date and discipline (look at the left hand column).  Remember that you will turn up both kinds of reference article, the short kind and the more detailed kind.  Also in some cases you will not be directed to the specific article, but rather to the homepage of the reference book.  Just search the topic you want (it will be on the sidebar to the right) and you will find the article.

 

e-Reference Portals

 Here are a number of the cross-searchable e-Reference sites you can use.  In the box to the left are only some highlighted titles from these e-Reference sites which Communication students should know about.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

 Collection of searchable e-reference books.
Subject areas include Health, Business, Religion, Philosophy, Social Sciences, History, Art, Film etc. New titles are regularly added.

Oxford Reference Online 

brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Sage Knowledge

 SAGE eReference includes over 80 award-winning reference titles.

 

Credo Reference 

Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.

CQ Press Electronic Library

Contains cross-searchable versions of the following publications:

CQ Researcher Online,  Congress and the Nation, The Contemporary Middle East, Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion. Guide to Congress, Guide to Political Campaigns in America, Guide to the Presidency, Guide to U.S. Elections, Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court, Historic Documents Series, Political Handbook of the World, Political History of America’s Wars, Supreme Court Yearbook, Washington Information Directory

 

ABC-Clio e-Book Collection 

ABC-CLIO e-Book collection is a growing collection of reference books on many different subjects. All the titles can also be found in the catalog. You can search across titles or browse the collection