Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Great Migration: African American History: e-Reference

Using Summon to Find e-Reference

Summon, our Web Scale Discovery software, allows you to easily find content in e-Reference books.  It does not cover ALL our e-Reference books, but most are covered.

The box above allows you to search Summon for only reference material.  You may want to add further filters, such as date and discipline (look at the left hand column).  Remember that you will turn up both kinds of reference article, the short kind and the more detailed kind.  Also in some cases you will not be directed to the specific article, but rather to the homepage of the reference book.  Just search the topic you want (it will be on the sidebar to the right) and you will find the article.

 

Selected e-Reference

History in Dispute (includes a chapter on the Great Migration)

Encyclopedia of African American Society

There are other useful e-reference books and parts of books - use the e-reference portals below to find out!

e-Reference

 Here are a number of the e-Reference sites you can use:

Sage Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge eBooks and eReference are available in 10 subject collections so libraries can quickly locate and provide the exact content their patrons require - and users can easily find and use the information they need. In-depth coverage of key subjects in the curriculum includes titles across the following areas:

  • Business and Management
  • Counseling
  • Criminology
  • Education
  • Geography
  • Health and Social Care
  • Media and Communication
  • Politics and International Relations
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

 

ABC-Clio e-Book Collection 

ABC-CLIO e-Book collection is a growing collection of reference books on many different subjects. All the titles can also be found in the catalog. You can search across titles or browse the collection.

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

 Collection of searchable e-reference books.
Subject areas include Health, Business, Religion, Philosophy, Social Sciences, History, Art, Film etc. New titles are regularly added.

 

Salem Online

Includes: the Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American
history series - covers the 1940s, 1950s, 1960s, 1970s and 1980s, 1990s

Encyclopedia of Popular Music in Oxford Music Online

Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.

Credo Reference 

Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.

Oxford Reference Online 

brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. 

American National Biography 

offers portraits of more than 17,400 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation. 1 simultaneous user

Britannica Online 

In addition to articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, the Reference Center contains Britannica Online's collection of multimedia, Web links, magazine and journal articles from both EBSCO and ProQuest, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.