Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Great Migration: African American History: Articles

Articles

To find articles on any subject you must first use databases which index periodicals like journals, magazines and newspapers.  Connelly Library has many databases on different subjects, all of which are listed here

 America: History and Life

  • Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
  • In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project’s end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century

 

ProQuest Central

  • Indexes and abstracts academic journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.  Multidisciplinary
  • Includes full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present
  • Many resources are available in full text

LexisNexis Academic 

  • Contains the full text of articles from 300 daily newspapers published throughout the United States, articles from hundreds of news, business, and general interest periodicals.
  • Contains legal information including cases, legal codes and law reviews

  • Get video tips on searching Lexis Nexis

JSTOR & Project Muse

JSTOR

JSTOR is a collection of full-text, keyword-searchable academic journals dating back to the late 17th century. Full text is available up to the last 3 - 5 years for most titles (Moving Wall). JSTOR allows browsing by title or by discipline(s) , and full text searching of individual titles or the entire collection. Disciplines covered include Economics.

Project MUSE

Project MUSE offers access to current content of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, with full text of all journals.History is one of the disciplines covered.

 

Primary Source Articles

 The major index of popular magazines for this time period.  Not fulltext.

   

  • Three major opinion journals covering a wide spectrum of political, social and economic views

The Nation Archives 1865-present

The New Republic Archives 1914-present

The National Review Archives 1955-present

NYT mast

Use the advanced search feature of Google books to retrieve Magazine articles, including Life Magazine. Click on the Magazine button. Note: you cannot print from Google books.