Betsy Ross House

Virtual tours:

https://www.youvisit.com/tour/visitphilly  (includes 360 tours of several historic sites in Philadelphia)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NnAO_lmCFAw

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_3VdZA5TT0

 

Eastern State Penitentiary

Virtual tours:

https://www.easternstate.org/explore/online-tour

http://futurehistory.com/360/esp/

https://www.easternstate.org/explore/audio-tour

Digital collections: https://www.easternstate.org/press-room/image-library

 

Elthreth’s Alley

Virtual tours:

https://www.youvisit.com/tour/visitphilly  

http://www.elfrethsalley.org/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQedXLPCwCE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTCypycfN5c

 

Museum of the American Revolution

Virtual museum tour: http://noasarai.com/MoAR/vt/Prologue/

Virtual field trip with scavenger hunt: https://www.amrevmuseum.org/education-museum/students-and-teachers/virtual-field-trip

Digital Collections: : https://www.amrevmuseum.org/collection

 

National Museum of American Jewish History

Virtual tour: https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/national-museum-of-american-jewish-history

 

Philadelphia Water Works

https://www.youvisit.com/tour/visitphilly  

Digital Collections: https://philawater.pastperfectonline.com/

 

Penn Museum

https://www.youvisit.com/tour/visitphilly  

https://www.penn.museum/athome/tours/

Includes 360 view of the Egyptian Hall, as well as guided virtual tours of the galleries, and special interest tours lead by Global Guides Yaroub and Hadi.

African American Museum in Philadelphia

https://onlineexhibits.aampmuseum.org/through-his-eyes/#/

Virtual exhibit: Through His Eyes: Youth Activism in Philadelphia's Civil Rights Era

Exhibit explores the work of Philadelphia photographer Jack Theodore Franklin (1922-2009). Franklin chronicled African American life photographing political and social movements, including rallies, protest marches, and leaders of the Civil Rights Movement in Philadelphia.

 

Mutter Museum

http://memento.muttermuseum.org/

Virtual exhibit: Memento Mutter

Exhibit explores thought-provoking objects in the Mutter collections, including a killer’s brain, a bound foot, early prosthetic limbs, and a syphilitic skull.

 

National Museum of American Jewish History

https://vimeo.com/420037938

Online talk: Facing the Spanish Flu and the Great Depression

This online talk highlights the bravery of nurse Lillian Wald.

 

Philadelphia Museum of Art

https://philamuseum.org/exhibitions/2015/815.html

Virtual Exhibit: Represent: 200 Years of African American Art

Exhibit explores the evolving ways in which African American artists have expressed personal, political, and racial identity. Includes slideshow, a video, and teaching resources.

La Salle's Art Museum collections include art work of many African Americans represented in the PMA exhibit, including Elizabeth Catlett, Henry Ossawa Tanner, and Jacob Lawrence. Jacob Lawrence's art can also be found in an oversized bible housed in Special Collections.