It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This series of books provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods.
Novels for Students contains easily accessible and content-rich discussions of the literary and historical background of 15 to 20 works from various cultures and time periods. Each novel included in this new resource was specially chosen by an advisory panel of teachers and librarians -- experts who have helped us define the information needs of students and ensure the age-appropriateness of this reference's content.
•Introductory essays that place each novel in its historical and literary context
•Easy-to-understand discussions of the novel's themes, plot and characters
•Analysis of the novel's literary construction
•Age-appropriate critical commentary on the novel's significance for our times
•A literary glossary that defines difficult terms
•A timeline that juxtaposes literary and world events
•Additional sources for further study
The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Literature Criticism Online includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to
students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography
provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.