Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature: e-Reference

Using Summon to Find e-Reference

Summon, our Web Scale Discovery software, allows you to easily find content in e-Reference books.  It does not cover ALL our e-Reference books, but most are covered.

The box above allows you to search Summon for only reference material.  You may want to add further filters, such as date and discipline (look at the left hand column).  Remember that you will turn up both kinds of reference article, the short kind and the more detailed kind.  Also in some cases you will not be directed to the specific article, but rather to the homepage of the reference book.  Just search the topic you want (it will be on the sidebar to the right) and you will find the article.

 

e-Reference

 Here are a number of the e-Reference sites you can use:

Britannica Online 

In addition to articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, the Reference Center contains Britannica Online's collection of multimedia, Web links, magazine and journal articles from both EBSCO and ProQuest, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Pop-up dictionary definitions have audio pronunciations. Research Tools include World Data Analyst (country maps and profiles); a collection of more than 4,000 quotations; and Gateway to the Classics, containing 225 selections of "the great ideas and writing of the Western World" as well as a time line and a Year in Review browse. Country comparison (for any two countries); 200 fulllength videos; the Britannica Blog (interviews with academics and discussions about history, politics, technology, and popular culture). Among the daily features are a biography and news from the New York Times and BBC News.

Salem Literature

Includes the Critical Insights series. This comprehensive series distills the best of both classic and current literary criticism of the world’s most-studied literature. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature. Edited and written by some of academe's most distinguished literary scholars, Critical Insights provides authoritative, in depth scholarship suitable for students and teachers alike.

 

Credo Reference 

Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.

Gale Virtual Reference Library 

 Collection of searchable e-reference books.
Subject areas include Health, Business, Religion, Philosophy, Social Sciences, History, Art, Film etc. New titles are regularly added.

Check out Gale training tutorials!

Oxford Reference Online 

brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

 

Cambridge Companions Online 

 

Taken from the renowned Cambridge Companions series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts in the field and used by students, scholars and non-specialists for twenty years.
Covers literature, philosophy, religion, classics and cultural studies, ensuring a complete reference for all those working in the humanities.
Includes over 270 titles, from Austen to Yeats, Martin Luther to Feminist Theology, Locke to Wittgenstein.
Offering 2,700 essays in total; all fully searchable by author, title, topic or theme.
Updated continuously with new essays and bibliographies, taken from the book series on publication.

American National Biography 

offers portraits of more than 17,400 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation. 1 simultaneous user

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.   

 Sage Knowledge

 SAGE eReference includes over 80 award-winning reference titles.

 

 ABC-Clio e-Book Collection 

ABC-CLIO e-Book collection is a growing collection of reference books on many different subjects. All the titles can also be found in the catalog. You can search across titles or browse the collection