It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Literature integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information.
You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across the library's Gale Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Includes all the Literature Criticism Online, Twayne's and Scribner's Writers series among other works searched
A new way to search Gale Literarature
Integrates Reference material from Gale Ebooks, Twaynes, and Scribners and Gale Literature Criticism Online into a single research environment. You can still search these sources separately from the boxes below this one.
Gale Literature provides workflow tools and features that are brand new to your Gale Literature Collections – term clusters, search assist functionality, mobile compatibility, interface translation, along with an easier and more dynamic search.
This series of books provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods.
Novels for Students contains easily accessible and content-rich discussions of the literary and historical background of 15 to 20 works from various cultures and time periods. Each novel included in this new resource was specially chosen by an advisory panel of teachers and librarians -- experts who have helped us define the information needs of students and ensure the age-appropriateness of this reference's content.
•Introductory essays that place each novel in its historical and literary context
•Easy-to-understand discussions of the novel's themes, plot and characters
•Analysis of the novel's literary construction
•Age-appropriate critical commentary on the novel's significance for our times
•A literary glossary that defines difficult terms
•A timeline that juxtaposes literary and world events
•Additional sources for further study