LibGuides: Cybersecurity: Databases and Web Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. We now have the complete ACM Digital Library.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Credo Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.
Credo is a vast online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and full in-depth articles.
Ebook Central (from ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
More than 170,000 ebooks from scholarly publishers. Formerly called ebrary.
A growing and changing collection of 170,000+ e-books in many different academic subject areas, ebrary includes works from university presses and other academic publishers first published in recent decades, but also selected classic works dating as far back as William Harvey's Circulation of the Blood, originally published in 1628. Nearly all works are in the English language, though some are in other European languages (German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and Dutch).

Content can be downloaded using the free Adobe Digital Editions software to most devices including the Nook, iPad, iPhone, etc., but not the Kindle or Kobo Vox. For more information see: http://guides.lasalle.edu/ebookcentral
eBook Collection from EBSCOHOST This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that students and scholars will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
FAITS This link opens in a new window
More than 1200 clearly written reports covering all of the most important technology areas.
Gale eBooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Collection of searchable e-reference books.
Subject areas include Health, Business, Religion, Philosophy, Social Sciences, History, Art, Film etc.
Collection of searchable e-reference books
HeinOnline: Academic Package This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. (It also now includes the Pentagon Papers and a collection of primary and secondary material related to slavery called Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, another collection entitled Religion and the Law and a brand new collection entitled History of Capital Punishment.)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents.
OSTI.gov This link opens in a new window
OSTI.gov is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic incorporates scholarly journals, ebooks, dissertations, news and video content across all disciplines in a unified and seamless user interface. ProQuest One Academic includes these four multidisciplinary collections: ProQuest Central; Academic Video Online; Academic Complete;ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

Web Resources

DOD research center focused on information system vulnerabilities and defending against information and cyber attacks. Center provides briefings, reports, and newsletters.

National Security Agency

The National Security Agency/Central Security Service (NSA/CSS) is home to America's codemakers and codebreakers. The National Security Agency has provided timely information to U.S. decision makers and military leaders for more than half a century. The Central Security Service was established in 1972 to promote a full partnership between NSA and the cryptologic elements of the armed forces.

Department of Homeland Security

DHS is responsible for overseeing the protection of the.gov domain and for providing assistance and expertise to private sector owners and operators of cyber networks.

National Credit Union Administration

The National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) is the independent federal agency that regulates, charters and supervises federal credit unions. With the backing of the full faith and credit of the U.S. Government, NCUA operates and manages the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund (NCUSIF), insuring the deposits of more than 95 million account holders in all federal credit unions and the overwhelming majority of state-chartered credit unions.

National Institute of Standards and Technology - Cyber Security Portal

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.

More Web Resources

Cybersecurity Incident & Important Consumer Information
Breach information and steps from Equifax
On the Internet
Scams and safety information from the FBI
Stop. Think. Connect.
Led by the Dept. of Homeland Security, this campaign provides basic tips in many languages
Privacy, Identity, and Online Security
Consumer information from the Federal Trade Commission
Stay Safe Online
Informative materials from the National Cyber Security Alliance
Free Internet Safety Tutorials
From GCFLearnFree.org, learn about internet safety through videos and guides
Stop.Think.Connect. Friends Newsletter
Sign up to receive a monthly newsletter with cybersecurity tips
AARP Fraud Watch Network
Consumer protection videos and articles from AARP
Lock Down Your Login
Stop. Think. Connect. has narrowed it down to the six easiest steps to better personal security