Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HeinOnline: Video Tutorlals

Training Videos

HeinOnline offers a large number of training videos - both from HeinOnline itself and from Quimbee

Video tutorials

What is HeinOnline?

This brief introduction to HeinOnline provides an overview of content, searching, and using the wealth of tools available in the...

Searching 101

This tutorial will provide basic search instruction, including search structure and syntax, to HeinOnline users.

National Survey of State Laws

This tutorial teaches researchers how to use the National Survey of State Laws database to quickly compare laws among states.

Law Journal Library Training Videos

Law Journal Library 101 How to Find an Article in the Law Journal Library in 4 Easy Steps if You...

Printing and Downloading

This video provides a short tutorial on how to print or download HeinOnline material.

The HeinOnline Instruction Videos Won’t Play on My System.

To view the HeinOnline instruction videos you must have Adobe Flash Player installed on your system. You can obtain the...

Do you offer live training?

Yes, we can provide live training for you or for a group of people. We provide live training using a...

HeinOnline Welcome Page Introduction Video

This tutorial provides a brief overview of the features and functions of the HeinOnline Welcome Page.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

What does an IFLP index record look like in HeinOnline? Search by Keyword in IFLP Search by Author in IFLP...

United States Code Training Videos

How to Search the Popular Name Tables in the United States Code How to Search the Supplement Volumes of the...

Spinelli’s Law Library Reference Shelf Training Videos

Search Options in Spinelli’s Law Library Reference Shelf Getting Started with Spinelli’s Law Library Reference Shelf (1 Hour Self-Guided On-Demand...

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library Training Videos

These videos from our archives explain how to find House and Senate reports in HeinOnline. Where can I find a...

U. S. Treaties & Agreements Training Videos

This training video from our archives explains how to determine if a treaty is still in force. How to Determine...

United Nations Law Collection Training Videos

This video from our archive explains how to determine if a treaty is in force. How to Determine if a...

World Treaty Library Training Video

This video from our archives explains the functionality and content of the World Treaty Library.    

Dropbox Video

This short video explains how to use the Dropbox application in HeinOnline.  

Spinelli’s Law Library Reference Shelf

These videos from our archives explore searching and navigating with Spinelli’s Law Library Reference Shelf. Search Options in Spinelli’s Law...

Navigating the HeinOnline Interface

This tutorial explains the basic functionality of HeinOnline’s user-friendly interface.

eTOC Alerts in HeinOnline

This short video explains how to set up eTOC, or electronic table of contents, alerts in HeinOnline.

HeinOnline Welcome Page

This video tutorial explains how to use the features of the HeinOnline Welcome Page.

Citations on a Page

This short video explains how to utilize inline hyperlinks and link between related documents in HeinOnline.

Emailing PDF Links

This video explains how to email a PDF link to anyone, anywhere. The end user does not need a HeinOnline...

Overview of Quimbee’s HeinOnline Video Series

This brief overview provides a glimpse of what Quimbee covers in its series of videos about content, searching, and navigating in...

Logging Into HeinOnline

This brief instructional video explains how to log in to HeinOnline.

Using MyHein

This video explains how to set up and use a MyHein personal research account, including how to bookmark articles, save...

Training Videos (Quimbee)

Overview of Quimbee’s HeinOnline Video Series

This brief overview provides a glimpse of what Quimbee covers in its series of videos about content, searching, and navigating in...

Logging Into HeinOnline

This brief instructional video explains how to log in to HeinOnline.

Using MyHein

This video explains how to set up and use a MyHein personal research account, including how to bookmark articles, save...

Exploring the Welcome Page

This Quimbee tutorial teaches users about the content and features of the HeinOnline Welcome Page.

Exploring the HeinOnline Interface

This Quimbee video highlights the content and tools available within the user-friendly HeinOnline interface.

Searching from the Welcome Page

This instructional video explains how to perform basic and more advanced searches from the HeinOnline Welcome Page.

Catalog Searching

This Quimbee video explains how to search the HeinOnline catalog.

Searching by Citation

This brief Quimbee video explains how to quickly retrieve a document by its citation.

Retrieving Case Law

This video explains how to retrieve case law in HeinOnline. HeinOnline contains Supreme Court cases, but has a partnership with...

HeinOnline and Fastcase

This video explains the relationship between HeinOnline and Fastcase, and the differences between Fastcase Basic and Fastcase Premium.

Navigating HeinOnline Databases

This short tutorial explains how to navigate among HeinOnline’s databases, also known as collections, and how to perform basic searches.

Navigating Within Titles and Volumes

This video explores HeinOnline content in more detail and explains how to navigate within a title or volume.

Image Toolbar

This tutorial explains the functionality of all tools on the image toolbar, which is located above every page image in...

Downloading, Printing, and Sharing Documents

This video explains how to download and print HeinOnline documents also discusses file sharing methods.

ScholarCheck

This video explains the various tools that compose HeinOnline’s ScholarCheck tool, which links users between related documents and measures citation...

Author Profile Pages

This short video explains how to access and set up author profiles, and the various metrics available within author profile...

U.S. Congressional Documents

This tutorial explains the incredible amount of content available within the U.S. Congressional Documents and how to navigate the database.

Using Citations in the U.S. Congressional Documents Database

This tutorial explains how to quickly retrieve a document by its citation and how to use citation tools in the...

History of Bills and Resolutions

This tutorial specifically explores browsing and searching across the History of Bills and Resolutions in the U.S. Congressional Documents database.

Congressional Record Daily to Bound Locator

This tutorial explores a unique tool in HeinOnline: the Congressional Record Daily to Bound Locator. It also discusses the difference...

Search for a Member of Congress by Name

This video explains how to find a member of Congress by name in the U.S. Congressional Documents database.

Search by Bill Number

This video explains how to search the U.S. Congressional Documents database for a specific bill.

Search by Rollcall Vote

Interested to know how your representative voted on an issue? This video explains how to search the U.S. Congressional Documents...

Refining and Building Search Queries

This video uses the U.S. Congressional Documents database to explain how to build a specific search query and how to...

Congressional Hearings Quick Finder

HeinOnline contains thousands of Congressional hearings. This video explains how to use the Congressional Hearings Quick Finder to locate specific...