Heinonline
- HeinOnline: Academic Package This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. (It also now includes the Pentagon Papers and a collection of primary and secondary material related to slavery called Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, another collection entitled Religion and the Law and a brand new collection entitled History of Capital Punishment.)
- HeinOnline Knowledge BasesThe Knowledge Base will provide all kinds of help - you can look at the Table of Contents or Search the text of the Help.
- Getting StartedThe information found on this page can be downloaded with examples at the link above.
The Welcome Page
The Welcome Page
When you first login to HeinOnline, you are directed to the Welcome Page. Here you can view subscribed collections by both category and name. Perform a full text search, search for a document by citation, and access the HeinOnline catalog or case law. Click search help for quick tips on searching in HeinOnline.
Click the more information link next to any collection to see a brief description of the collection’s content or to download a full list of available titles.
Set Up a MyHein Personal Research Account
All users with access to HeinOnline can take advantage of MyHein, which can be used to bookmark and export articles, save search queries, and set up electronic table of contents (eTOC) alerts. Access MyHein from the top right side of any page in HeinOnline.
Search Results
When viewing search results in HeinOnline, matching text pages will be highlighted in yellow. Sort search results by relevance, number of times cited, volume date, and more. Available options, such as MyHein and PDF/Download, are available to the right of the search results, along with cited by and accessed information. Facets to narrow search results are available on the left side of the screen.
Page View
View the table of contents, browse through a volume, print/download and more using the image toolbar from any page in HeinOnline. View ScholarCheck statistics, copy or export from multiple citation formats, use the breadcrumb trail to navigate back to the collection homepage or Welcome Page.
Full Text Search
Full Text Search
The search bar is stationary and available on all pages in HeinOnline. Perform a quick text and metadata search using the Full Text search option. Clicking Advanced Search will expand options to include up to six advanced search fields. Users can also select specific titles and a year range to narrow search parameters even further.
Other Searches
Search by Citation
Use the citation tab and/or citation navigator to access a document by its citation. For a list of citations by title, click Citation Format Guide. Citation formats in HeinOnline are derived from the Bluebook, Prince’s Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations, and the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations.
Search the Catalog
Search the publications by title, author, publisher and more using the Catalog search option. This tool will search across all HeinOnline MARC records. Use the Advanced Search feature to expand multiple fields and refine your search by including a date range. Search results will include publication information, a list of the collections in which the title can be found, and links to more information and MARC records. Narrow search results using the facets on the left side of the screen.
