Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MBA Library Resources: Citing Business Resources

Citations from Business databases and journals

To create bibliographic citations for periodical articles and books, it is best to use either New RefWorks or Legacy RefWorks  which are both bibliographic management software which lets you export records from databases like Summon, ProQuest, Business Source Elite etc. Then you can create bibliographies in any style you choose. (Usually Business uses APA format.)  Use Legacy only if you have an already existing account, because it is being seamlessly integrated into New RefWorks in the near future. If you are creating a new account use the New RefWorks.  If you have a Legacy Account (or an Endnote, Zotero etc account) you can move your references to the New RefWorks (see here)

Business databases do not allow direct export into bibliographic management software.  You can either manually add references to RefWorks or create references to add to your Citation list as demontrated below.

Citing Business Databases in APA Style

Here are examples of how to cite Business Databases.  Since the APA Guide does not include a section on such databases, these are extrapolations from the guidelines provided.

  • Best’s Library Center (since company record will be continuously changing, include a retrieval date)

A.M. Best Company. (2015) Prudential Select Life Insurance Company of America. [company report] Retrieved 2015, April 13 from Best’s Library Center.

  • Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)


Kramer, B. (2015). Enterprise Ready Tablets. Retrieved from Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies database.

  • Lexis-Nexis Databases

When citing from Business Company Dossier from Lexis-Nexis, be sure to put in the retrieval date, because the company record will be constantly changing. Below is what Lexis-Nexis says should be used to quote their databases (find it here) https://wiki.lexisnexis.com/academic/index.php?title=Citing_References#Company_Dossier

Business Company Dossier

Author/Editor. Title of Profile . (Date of publication). Retrieved on date from URL

LexisNexis. Hewlett-Packard Company. (2015). Retrieved 2015, April 13, from LexisNexis Academic database

 

Hoovers In-Depth Company Records

Author/Editor. (Year, Month Day of Publiction). Title. Retrieved from LexisNexis Academic database

Hoover's Inc. (2015, April 13). Hewlett-Packard Company: In-depth record. Retrieved from LexisNexis Academic database

  • MarketLine

MarketLine. (2015, March 5). Apple. [company profile]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database.

MarketLine. (2014, December 23) North America - Oil & Gas, [industry profile]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database.

  • Market Share Reporter

Gale (2015) Top Dry Dog Food Makers, 2013. Market Share Reporter. . Retrieved from Gale Directory Library database.

  • Mintel

Mintel has analysts and they should appear in the citation as authors.

Bonetto, L. (2015, February) Marketing to Millennials – US. Retrieved from Mintel database

  • S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage

Industry Surveys have analysts and they should appear in the citation as authors

Zino, A. (2015, January). Industry surveys: Telecommunications. Retrieved from S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage database.

S&P Capital IQ. (2015, February 14). Verizon Communications, Inc. Stock Report. Retrieved from S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage database.

  • CCH IntelliConnect

Tax cases

[2014-1 U.S.T.C. ¶50,201], Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. v. Malgorzata Makowska, Norbert Trokki, and the United States of America, Tax liens: Interpleader action: Priority of liens: Brokerage account: Claims by spouse: Inchoate: State (New York) law: Judgment of divorce. U.S. District Court, E.D. New York (Mar. 3, 2014). Retrieved from CCH IntelliConnect database. 

Journal article without DOI

Garlock, D. C., & Khalaf, A. N. (2014, July 18). Debt vs. equity: Myths, best practices and practical considerations for U.S. tax aspects of related-party financings. TAXES - The Tax Magazine92(8), 37-66. Retrieved from https://intelliconnect.cch.com