Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MBA Library Resources: Finding Scholarly Articles

You can use Summon to search all our electronic journals at once.  You can find more about using Summon on this Guide. Below is a search box which restricts your Summon search to only articles from scholarly journals in Business and Economics.  If you want to search for articles we do not have but which you can get on Interlibrary Loan, click the Add Results Beyond your Library's Collection box:

This searches the entire Summon database and allows you to request any articles we do not own be sent to your La Salle email as a PDF attachment by using Interlibrary Loan via the Article Locator (see below)   

You can also search some of the individual databases which contain the business and economics articles found in Summon.  The two main ones are ABI/Inform and Business Source Elite.

Summon Search of Scholarly Articles in Business and Economics

Obtaining Articles from Other Libraries

The Article Locator@Lasalle is Link Resolver software.

  • Links you to the full text of the article from the Connelly Library holdings, OR
  • Gives you the opportunity to search our catalog to see if we own the article in print, OR
  • Submit an ILL to get the article from another library delivered to your La Salle email as a PDF

When you are looking at a result list in a database that you access from the Connelly Library database you will see full text articles attached to many of the records.  For those which do not have full text, look for the Article Locator@LaSalle icon – it can be in many different places on the screen depending on the database vendor 

 Click on this icon (If you are using Summon the Article Locator page will simply come up if the article is not full text at Connelly - you will not see the icon)

If we own the article online from any source, you will see either a link to the article or the article itself will come up.

If we do not own the article online you will see the Article Locator@LaSalle screen.  

You will see the option to submit an Interlibrary Loan.  (first call 215 951 1292 to be sure that your library record is updated - you will need your ID card OR your ID number if you do not have an ID card) Then input your barcode (back of ID card OR your ID number if you do not have a barcode) and a fully filled out ILL form will appear. Just submit the form and you will get a copy of the article as a PDF attachment in your La Salle email - only your La Salle email!  ILL is very fast, usually you will get the article within 24 business hours.

REMEMBER THAT YOU NEVER HAVE TO PURCHASE ACCESS TO JOURNAL ARTICLES. IF YOU ARE ASKED TO BUY AN ARTICLE THEN YOU ARE NOT GOING THROUGH CONNELLY LIBRARY!

Business Article Databases

See this guide for tutorials on using EBSCOhost databases like Business Source Elite: https://guides.lasalle.edu/ebscohost

Google Scholar

Rather than Google Scholar, try using Summon (above) with the option to search outside of the library's collection turned on (top right hand corner of the results screen). This will link you directly into the library's holdings and offer many more ways to filter and narrow your research.

If you do want to use Google Scholar see this guide for help