Selected e-Books
Oxford Companion to United States Supreme Court Decisions 2nd Edition
This new edition of the Guide contains more than 450 entries on major Supreme Court cases, including 53 new entries on the latest landmark rulings. Among the new entries are Bush v. Gore, Nixon v. United States, Gonzales v. Planned Parenthood Federation of America, and Rumsfeld v. Forum for Academic and Institutional Rights. Four decisions - Hamdi v. Bush, Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, Rasu v. Bush, and Rumsfeld v. Padilla - are considered in a single essay entitled Enemy Combatant Cases.
Written by eminent legal scholars, each entry provides the United States Reports citation, the date the case was argued and decided, the vote of the Justices, who wrote the opinion for the Court, who concurred, and who dissented. More importantly, the entries feature an informative account of the particulars of the case, the legal and social background, the reasoning behind the Courts decision, and the cases impact on American society.
The Supreme Court Yearbook has provided valuable in-depth coverage and analysis of every decision from the nation's highest court since the 1989-1990 term. Sixteen years of annual reference is now accessible in a powerful, fully searchable online edition that lets users explore expert and timely Supreme Court coverage swiftly and comprehensively.
With The Supreme Court Yearbook Online Edition, users will find:
- Year-end overviews of Supreme Court terms from 1989-2007
- Case summaries of every opinion written during each Supreme Court term
- Essays on the most significant cases from each year and the trends in each term
- Useful tables and figures on voting patterns and trends in constitutional law
- Reference documents for understanding how the Supreme Court works
The Supreme Court Yearbook Series Online Edition features easy-to-use search and browse functions that make navigation fast and simple. User can browse the online edition by:
- Yearbook (Supreme Court term)
- Topic
- Case Name
- Tables and Figures
- Documents related to "Understanding the Court"
Gale Enyclopedia of American Law
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more. Updated by:
American Law Yearbook (NOW ONLINE!!!)
.
Each year's edition contains the full U.S. Supreme Court docket in addition to the non-Supreme Court cases. Includes a glossary of legal terms.
Find more e-Books here
