LibGuides: International Baccalaureate (IB) and Advanced Placement Students: Free Academic Resources

Some Free Stuff

Academic Earth : Academic Video Lectures

Founded with the goal of extending high-quality online learning opportunities to people around the globe; includes streaming video of courses and lectures from the world’s top scholars.
AGRICOLA : NAL Catalog

AGRICultural OnLine Access serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information; Covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

American FactFinder

Population, housing, economic, and geographic data in the form of maps, tables, and reports from a variety of Census Bureau sources.

AP Archive

Access to more than 550,000 video clips via YouTube — covering news events dating back to 1895 providing high-profile, searchable repositories for documentary filmmakers, historians and others; The archival footage includes major world events such as the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, exclusive footage of the bombing of Pearl Harbor in 1941, the fall of the Berlin Wall and the 2001 terrorist attacks on the U.S. Celeb footage includes Marilyn Monroe captured on film in London in the 1950s and Twiggy modeling fashions of the 1960s, as well as segments on Muhammad Ali, Charlie Chaplin, Salvador Dali, Brigitte Bardot and Elvis Presley.

Archaeology Channel

Streaming media Web site brought to you by Archaeological Legacy Institute (ALI) covers films, news, commentary, interactive programs.

Bartleby.com

Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.

Biography.com

A&E Television Networks, Biography Channel website covering over 7,000 biographies and daily features that highlight biographies on newsworthy, compelling, and "famous" individuals.

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Contains information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government, these data are critical to Federal, State, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

C-SpanVideo.org

Free online access to the more than 160,000 hours of C-Span footage, covering 23 years of history and five presidential administrations, and growing.

CDC WONDER

Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large; Access to a wide array of public health information and contains reports, guidelines and public health data.

Center for National Security Studies

A non-governmental advocacy and research organization, was founded in 1974 to work for control of the FBI and CIA and to prevent violations of civil liberties in the United States.

ChildStats.gov : Child & Family Statistics

Website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.

CIA - The World Factbook

Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Constitution Finder

Constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents; Nations of the world are linked to their constitutional text posted somewhere on the Internet.

Countries & Regions

via the U.S. Department of State, these publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of almost 200 countries and dependencies; Also includes links for contact information.

Country Fact Sheets

Includes facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty; The Background Notes are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online : Academic Edition

Web version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes multidisciplinary articles, internet links and images.

Google Books: Magazine Collection

Contains fulltext images and articles from magazines in the Google Books collection, includes titles like the Advocate, Billboard, CIO, dwell, Ebony, LIFE, Popular Mechanics and more.

Google Cultural Institute

An enormous digital collection of artwork spanning centuries and continents; The Google Cultural Institute brings together millions of artifacts from multiple partners, with the stories that bring them to life, in a virtual museum.

Google Scholar

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

GPO : FDsys

Free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

GreenFILE™

Freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Indexes materials involving the relationships between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.