Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Explorer Cafe Fall 2013: Nov. 6, 2013

Summon Search Box

Explore this topic futher by using Summon which searches over a billion records of all types of material:

Some keywords that you can use are:

nonprofits, non-profits, volunteers, "social capital"

PALCI EZ Borrow

All current La Salle University faculty, students, and staff who are in good standing with the library and who have a valid ID card and an up-to-date library circulation record can request books through E-ZBorrow.  Use the barcode on the back of your ID card to login.

Use E-ZBorrow to request books that are not available in the Connelly Library. If you do not find the book you need in E-ZBorrow, request it through interlibrary loan (ILL).

Enter your Patron Barcode to log into E-Zborrow and begin searching.

Patron Barcode:

Bibliography

Alvord, S. H. Brown, L. D. & Letts, C.W. (2004). Social entrepreneurship and societal transformation: An exploratory study. The Journal of Applied Behavioral Science, 40(3), 260-282.


Batson, C. Daniel, Ahmad, Nadia and Tsang, Jo–Ann Tsang (2002). Four Motives for Community Involvement, Journal of Social Issues, 58(3):429-445.


Bekkers, Rene and Pamela Wiepking (2011), A Literature Review of Empirical Studies of Philanthropy: Eight Mechanisms That Drive Charitable Giving. Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly 40: 924.


Brooks, Arthur C. (2005). Does Social Capital Make You Generous? Social Science Quarterly, 86(1).


Brown, Eleanor and Silvinski, Al (2006). Nonprofit Organizations and the Market,140-158 in The Non-profit Sector: A Research Handbook, Second Edition. Powell, Walter W. and Steinberg, Richard, editors. Yale University Press.


Carman, Joanne and Nesbit, Rebecca (2013) Founding Nonprofit Organizations: Symptom or Syndrome? Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly 42:603-621.


Chikoto, Grace and Halicki, Michael (2013) Contextual Factors and Negotiating Spaces: Exploring the Emergence of Nonprofit and Hybrid Voluntary Organizations, Management and Leadership, Vol. 23, No. 3.


Clemens, Elizabeth S. (2006). “The Constitution of Citizens: Political Theories of Nonprofit Organizations” in Powell, Walter W., and Richard Steinberg. 2006. The Nonprofit Sector, A Research Handbook 9:207-220.


Cordes, Joseph, Steuerle, C. Eugene and Twombly, Eric (2004). Dimensions of NonProfit Entrepreneurship: an Explanatory Essay. Conference Draft, Public Policy and the Economics of Entrepreneurship Maxwell Policy Research Symposium, Syracuse University. In Public policy and the economics of entrepreneurship by Holtz-Eakin, Douglas and Rosen, Harvey S, eds, Cambridge, MA: MIT Press.(Request from EZBorrow)


Davis, Gerald, McAdam, Doug, Scott, Richard W. and Zald, Mayer (2005). Social Movements and Organization Theory. New York, Cambridge University Press. (Request from EZBorrow)


Hall, Peter Dobkin (2006). A Historical Overview of Philanthropy, Voluntary Associations, and Nonprofit Organizations in Powell, Walter W., and Steinberg, Richard, The Nonprofit Sector, A Research Handbook 2:32-65.


Hammack, David C. (2002). Nonprofit Organizations in American History: Research Opportunities and Sources. American Behavioral Scientist 45:1638-1674.


Ivie, Kristin. (2009). want to start a nonprofit? think again. Social Citizens Blog. www.socialcitizens.org/blog/start-non-profit.


Jones, Brian J. (2011). Social Capital: Counting Buried Treasure. Boulder, CO: Paradigm. (Request from EZBorrow)


Kenny Stevens, Susan (2005). A Call Taken to Heart: The Entrepreneurial Behavior of Nonprofit Founders. Grantmakers in the Arts Reader, Spring 2005


Light, Paul C. (2005). Searching for Social Entrepreneurs: Who They Might Be, Where They Are Found, What They Do. Paper prepared for the annual meetings of the Association for Research on Nonprofit and Voluntary Associations, November 17-18.


Lin, Nan; Cook, Karen S.; Burt, Ronald S. (2001). Social Capital: Theory and Research

.
Marquis, Christopher, Davis, Gerald and Glynn, Mary Ann (2011). Golfing Alone? Corporations, Elites, and Nonprofit Growth in 100 American Communities. Organization Science, Articles in Advance: 1-19. (use this link to request an Interlibrary Loan via the Article Locator)


Miller, Lynn and Simmons, Karen ( 1992). Differences in management practices of founding and nonfounding chief executives of human service organizations. Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, 16, 31-39.


Musick, Marc A. and John Wilson (2008). Volunteers: A Social Profile. also in print: 2nd floor HN49.V64 M87 2008


National Center for Charitable Statistics (2012). https://nccsdataweb.urban.org/PubApps/profile1.php


Leadership in Nonprofit Organizations: A Reference Handbook,(2011)SAGE Publications, Inc


Paxton, Pamela (1999). Is Social Capital Declining in the United States? A Multiple Indicator Assessment. American Journal of Sociology, 105(1): 88-127


Powell, Walter W. and Steinberg, Richard (2006). The Non-profit Sector: A Research Handbook, Second Edition. Yale University Press.


Putnam, Robert D. (1995). Bowling Alone: America’s Declining Social Capital. Journal of Democracy 6(1):65-78

.
Salamon, Lester (1999). America’s Nonprofit Sector: A Primer 2nd ed. New York: Foundation Center. (Request from EZBorrow)


Salamon, Lester M. (1987). Partners in Public Service; The Scope and Theory of Government-Nonprofit Relations in The Nonprofit Sector: A Research Handbook edited by Walter W. Powell, New Haven Connecticut, Yale university Press in print 2nd floor HD62.6 .N67 1987


Scheitle, Christopher P. (2008). Beyond the Congregation: Christian NonProfits in the United States. A Dissertation in Sociology, The Pennsylvania State University. Read a 24 page preview.   Order from ILL


Sills, David L. (1957). The Volunteers. (Glencoe, IL: Free Press).in print  3rd floor mezz RC180.A1 N34


Steinberg, Richard ( 2006). Economic Theories of Nonprofit Organizations in The Non-profit Sector: A Research Handbook, Second Edition by Powell, Walter W. and Steinberg, Richard . Yale University Press.


Stinchcombe, Arthur L. (1965). Social Structure and Organizations In: JG Marsh (Ed.) Handbook of Organizations, Chicago, IL. Rand and McNally Co.:142-193 in print 2nd floor HM791 .H362 1965


Weisbrod, Burton A.(1998). To Profit or Not to Profit: The Commercial Transformation of the Nonprofit Sector. Cambridge, the Cambridge University Press. (Request from EZBorrow)


Weisbrod, Burton A. (1975). Toward a Theory of the Voluntary Non-profit Sector in a Three Sector Economy” :171-195 in Altruism, Morality and Economic Theory edited by Edmund Phelps. Russell Sage Foundation. (Request from EZBorrow)


Wilson, J. (2000). Volunteering. Annual Review of Sociology, 26: 215-240.


Wright, Karen (Undated). Working Paper: Generosity VS. Altruism: Philanthropy and Charity in the US and UK. Centre for Civil Society London School for Economics. Available at www.istr.org. ( Printed version in Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations, ISSN 0957-8765, 12/2001, Volume 12, Issue 4, pp. 399 - 416)


Wuthnow, Robert (1995). Learning to Care: Elementary Kindness in an Age of Indifference. Cary, NC: Oxford University Press


Young, D. R. (1983). If Not for Profit, for What? A Behavioral Theory of the Nonprofit Sector Based on Entrepreneurship. Lexington, MA: Lexington Books. in print  2nd floor HD62.6 .Y68 1983


Young, D.R. (1985). Casebook of Management For Non-Profit Organizations: Entrepreneurship and Organizational Change. Hawthorne Press. (Request from EZBorrow)


Zald, Mayer (1970). Power in Organizations. Vanderbilt University Press.(Request from EZBorrow)