Print Reference Sources
These reference sources are great starting places. Once you discover what contributions each ethnic group is known for, you will be able to search electronic sources better. These books will help you find those contributions. They are all located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Connelly Library.
American Immigrant Cultures by Call Number: REF E184.A1 A63448 1997ISBN: 9780028972084Publication Date: 1995-06-01- Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism byCall Number: REF E184.A1 E58 1994ISBN: 1854356704Publication Date: 1993-12-01
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups by Call Number: REF E184.A1 H35ISBN: 0674375122Publication Date: 1980-10-10
The Columbia Documentary History of Race and Ethnicity in America by Call Number: REF E184.A1 C57 2004ISBN: 0231119941Publication Date: 2004-07-14
The New Americans by ISBN: 0674023579Publication Date: 2007-01-30Includes immigration from China, Cuba and India - Online OnlyEncyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West by
ISBN: 9781412905503Publication Date: 2006-02-24
Native Americans
Notable Native Americans by Call Number: REF E89 .N67 1995ISBN: 0810396386Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Encyclopedia of American Indian History by Call Number: REF E77 .E48 2008ISBN: 9781851098170Publication Date: 2007-07-23
Encyclopedia of North American Indians by ISBN: 0585077649Publication Date: 1996-01-01Online version ONLY!
Hispanic Americans
Be sure to check the book: The New Americans - which includes chapters on immigration from Cuba and Mexico
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Call Number: REF E184.S75 O97 2005ISBN: 0195156005Publication Date: 2005-08-25Also available online
Hispanic American Religious Cultures by ISBN: 9781598841398Publication Date: 2009-07-01Online version of this book ONLY!
African Americans
The Harvard Guide to African-American History by Call Number: E184.A1 M85 2005 2nd FloorISBN: 0674002768Publication Date: 2001-06-25
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Call Number: E185 .E54 1996 2nd FloorISBN: 0028973453Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Africana by Call Number: DT14 .A37435 2005 2nd FloorISBN: 0195170555Publication Date: 2005-04-07
The SAGE Encyclopedia of African Cultural Heritage in North America by ISBN: 9781452258218Publication Date: 2015-08-04
- Sources in US History: Slavery in America Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSlavery in America is a digital collection of over 600 documents in 75,000 pages drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources. This project documents key aspects of the history of slavery in America from its origins in Africa to its abolition.
Asian Americans
Asian American Society by ISBN: 9781452281902Publication Date: 2014-09-05Asian Americans are a growing, minority population in the United States. After a 46 percent population growth between 2000 and 2010 according to the 2010 Census, there are 17.3 million Asian Americans today. Yet Asian Americans as a category are a diverse set of peoples from over 30 distinctive Asian-origin subgroups that defy simplistic descriptions or generalizations. They face a wide range of issues and problems within the larger American social universe despite the persistence of common stereotypes that label them as a “model minority” for the generalized attributes offered uncritically in many media depictions.
Be sure to check the book: The New Americans - which includes chapters on immigration from China and India
Other Ethnic Groups
The Encyclopedia of the Irish in America by Call Number: REF E184.I6 E53 1999ISBN: 0268027552Publication Date: 1999-09-01
The Columbia Guide to Irish American History by ISBN: 0231120702Publication Date: 2005-09-14Online version of this book ONLY!
The Italian American Experience by ISBN: 0815307136Publication Date: 1999-10-01Online version of this book ONLY!
Polish Americans and Their History by ISBN: 9780822959601Publication Date: 2006-07-31Online version of this book ONLY!
