Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science: Websites

News

News Resources

 

Websites

Description:
PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.

Description:
A collaborative effort of 12 federal science agencies, this search engine goes into the deep web of databases and more than 50 million pages of scientific information. It serves as a gateway to more than 1800 scientific web sites

World Library of Science

Description:


Plant Information Online
Description:
Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in 1063 North American nurseries for 107916 plants, find 378901 citations to 140596 plants in science and garden literature, link to selected websites for images and regional information about 14157 plants, and access information on 2463 North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries.

Description:
The Encyclopedia will be an online reference and database on all 1.8 million species currently known to science and will stay current by capturing information on newly discovered and formally described species.

The Encyclopedia of Life is a collaborative effort. Ultimately, tens of thousands of people with expertise around the world and their predecessors are responsible. In terms of practical accountability, efforts are currently being headed by a Steering Committee of senior individuals from Harvard University, Smithsonian Institution, Field Museum, Marine Biological Laboratory, Biodiversity Heritage Library consortium, Missouri Botanical Garden, and the MacArthur and Sloan Foundations. Numerous organizations have already contributed to the conceptualization and development of the Encyclopedia.
In addition, two advisory groups are helping to devise the project. The Institutional Council contains more than 25 institutions from around the world; it provides a global perspective and outreach to EOL. The Distinguished Advisory Board consists of 13 global leaders from the scientific and policy communities.


OSTI.gov

Description:

OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.  It consolidates OSTI’s home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect. 

OSTI.GOV makes available over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies discoverable.  Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.  OSTI.GOV contains nearly 3 million citations, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites.  It also has more than 445,000 full-text DOE-funded STI documents.  OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options; and for the DOE community, additional citation information is available to help researchers evaluate article impact and find related research.