Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legacy RefWorks: RefWorks for Undergrads

Why use RefWorks as an undergrad?

RefWorks can be really useful when you're writing a big paper which will include a lot of research that you'll eventually need to cite. 

RefWorks allows you to import the basic information about articles, books, and websites you're using for research, and then when you're writing the paper, it will automatically create a bibliography based on those citations.  See the tab on Write-N-Cite for information on how to use RefWorks for in-text citations or footnotes.

Your instructor has likely warned you about plagiarism and making sure that if you use others' work that they are credited appropriately.  RefWorks is a great way to make sure that you don't forget to give credit where it is due.

RefWorks does require you to import the citations into your account--it can't read your mind at the end of writing a paper and know what references you've cited! 

But it can 'read your mind' when you've added the citations into your RefWorks account (which usually takes about thirty seconds; look for an Export button in article databases and the import will be even faster than that).

RefWorks can save you time

  • when you're writing a major research paper,
  • when you're creating a senior capstone or project, and
  • when you've procrastinated on writing a paper and need to put a bibliography together quickly. 

How-to for Undergrads

First, create an account (see First Time Users for more info).

Second, while you're doing your research make sure to import citations into RefWorks (this is very easy from article databases, such as EBSCO, which have an Export button which will export to RefWorks smoothly and quickly; if you're importing a book or website, you'll want to manually import the information). 

Third, once you've done all your research and imported all your citations, you'll be ready to write your paper.  You can download Write-N-Cite (see Write-N-Cite tab for more information) and use it to create your in-text citations or footnotes as well as your bibliography.

If you're not using Write-N-Cite, at the end of writing the paper, login to RefWorks and select Bibliography.  You'll want to create a bibliography; make sure that you're creating it using the style guide that your instructor requires.

That's it--you're done!  Just make sure to check over your bibliography and citations for errors (especially if you're using APA 6th edition).