Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Students: Library Vocabulary

Translate this LibGuide

Terms or Phrases

The following is a list of words that you may hear in the library:

 

A

Abstract: a paragraph that tells you briefly what an article will talk about

Access: to be able to get to a resource

Account: your personal record through the library

Annotation: notes that explain more about a book, article or text

Articles: a piece of non-fiction text that is published in a periodical

Audio: something that you listen to; sound

Author: the creator of an information resource

B

Bibliography: a list of information resources used to write a research paper

Boolean Searching: words or symbols used to make a search more efficient

Borrow: to take a resource out of the library

Broad: a search that has a large number of hits; more general

Browse: to look around without knowing exactly what you want

C

Call Number: a code that labels a resource to make it easier to find

Catalog: a comprehensive list of library materials that you search when you are looking for information resources

Check-in: to return a resource you borrowed from the library

Check-out: to take out or borrow a resource from the library

Circulation Desk: where you borrow and return library resources

Citation: a reference to a particular resource

Copy: to duplicate an information resource exactly often using a machine

Copyright: the legal rights granted to create and distribute information resources

Course Reserve: resources your teacher puts in the library or you to access temporarily

D

Database: an online search application that allows you to find periodical articles

Dictionary: a reference tool that explains the meanings of words, terms, and topics

Digital: an electronic resource format

Document: a recorded work or file

Download: to transfer a file onto a computer

Due Date: the deadline for returning a resource to the library

E

eBook: a book in digital or electronic form

Email: electronic mail; messages sent through the Internet

Encyclopedia: a reference tool containing brief articles on a variety of topics

F

Flashdrive: a memory device to save electronic files on

Full-text: the entire contents of an article

G

Google: a popular search engine

H

Hits: the number of times a search term appears in database or on the web after you do a search

Homepage: the first or default web site when you open your internet browser

I

Index: an alphabetical list of topics or subjects that refers you to a page or site

Information: the data being communicated by a resource

Information Desk: the place where you can ask reference librarians questions

Interlibrary Loan: a system of borrowing resources from other libraries

Internet: the network that interconnects computers to networks around the world; it is used to send email or look at web sites.

J

Journal: a periodical that gives you information from research or a study in a particular field

K

Keyword Search: to use a specific term to conduct a search in a database on the web

L

Late Fees/Fine: money you owe the library when you return a book after its due date

Lend: to let someone borrow materials or resources

Librarian: the trained professional who works in the library

Library of Congress Classification System: a system of organizing books originally established by the US Congress in 1800

Link: a word, phrase or picture that connects you to another web site or page when you click on it

Loan Period: the length of time you are allowed to borrow resources

Log in: to gain access to a computer through a username and password

M

Magazine: a popular interest periodical containing articles on many different topics; not scholarly

N

Narrow: a search that has a smaller number of hits; more specific

Newspaper: a regularly published printed daily or weekly; not scholarly

O

Off-Campus Access: a way to use the school library website from a computer that is not on campus

Online: on the Internet

Overdue: when a borrowed resource has been returned after the due date

P

Password: your secret combination of numbers and letters that allows you to log-in

PDF: portable document format; the full-text of an article is often this type of digital file

Peer-Reviewed: a scholarly article that was evaluated when submitted for publication in a journal

Periodicals: publications such as journals, magazines, and newspapers

Plagiarism: when the work and ideas of another writer are used or copied as if it were your own; stealing

Primary Source: an original, firsthand document or record

Print: to put a copy of the digital document or file onto paper

Printer: the machine you use to print out documents and files

Q

Query: a request for information submitted as a search

R

Reference Materials: resources that have a lot of information, like an encyclopedia, and cannot be borrowed

Relevance: words or ideas that are related

Remote Access: the use of online services from a remote computer. When working from home or other remote location you may need access to our electronic resources. 

Renew: to get more time borrowing a book from the library from its original due date

Research: an investigation of a topic or field of study

Research Question: the question you want to answer with the information you find while doing research

Resource: books, periodicals, files, and other materials found in a library

S

Scholarly: a journal that publishes academic research and reports on studies conducted

Search: a systematic way of looking for information

Search Engine: a device on the Internet that helps you search for a key word or phrase

Select: to choose

Source: the material containing information

Stacks: a group of books on shelves (need a call number from library catalog to find)

Style Manual: a guide to a set of rules for writing a research paper

Subject: what you are researching

T

Title: the name given to a book or article

Topic: the subject you are talking about in your research

Tutorial: a printed or online instructional tool

U

URL: the location or address of an online resource

Username: the code you use to log in

V

Video: an electronic medium that shows images and usually has sound

Volume: a source of information that is part of a series such as a journal or magazine

W

World Wide Web: a global network of internet servers