Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Gale Reference Sources

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online

The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Literature Criticism Online includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.

This replaces the print sets Contemporary Literary Criticism , Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Drama Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism.

The articles originally appeared in newspapers, magazine, scholarly journals and books and are reprinted here.  You can find how a work was received when it first was published and then follow its reputation over time.

This database includes criticisms of philosophical works as well as creative literary works.

Check out Gale Training Tutorials! 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library

This portal to electronic books includes two subcollections which can be separately searched if desired

Scribner Writers Online

Twayne's criticism

This database includes criticisms of philosophical works and philosophers as well as creative literary works and authors.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.

 

This database includes philosophers as well as literary authors