It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories
Europa World Plus provides:
* Regularly updated information providing all the background to the world’s major events
* A full range of sophisticated search and browse functions, allowing enhanced accessibility to the data-rich content
* The ability directly to compare multinational statistics in graph and tabular form
* Interactive visual features, including maps, flags and downloadable graphs
* Impartial coverage of issues of regional importance from acknowledged experts
* A vast range of up-to-date economic, political and statistical data
* Book and periodical bibliographies - direct you to further research
* Extensive directory of research institutes specializing in the region
* Ability to search by content type across regions
* Thousands of click-through web links to external sites
Provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.
The online edition of Political Handbook of the World combines the same comprehensive country and intergovernmental organization profiles from the print edition with a convenient, user-friendly database that organizes the content with a number of browses. Major political events that have occurred since the publication of the print volume have been included as notes at the beginning of affected entries.
Users can quickly access content from the Handbook by navigating a virtual table of contents, performing a keyword search, or browsing for country profiles by:
•System of Government
Using Summon to Find e-Reference
Summon, our Web Scale Discovery software, allows you to easily find content in e-Reference books. It does not cover ALL our e-Reference books, but most are covered.
The box above allows you to search Summon for only reference material. You may want to add further filters, such as date and discipline (look at the left hand column). Remember that you will turn up both kinds of reference article, the short kind and the more detailed kind. Also in some cases you will not be directed to the specific article, but rather to the homepage of the reference book. Just search the topic you want (it will be on the sidebar to the right) and you will find the article.
Here are a number of the e-Reference Portals you can use:
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. The online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica has hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content making this the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. This expansive collection includes:
•Reference works including handbooks and encyclopedias
•Professional development titles
•Textbooks – core and supplementary
•Major works series
Features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.
Credo is a vast online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and full in-depth articles.
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men & women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped the nation. (1 simultaneous user)
The American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years.
Enter a name in the Quick Search box (at top right and on every page) to get started; browse by name; or use the advanced search to find people by realm of renown, life dates, or birthplace. Please be aware that there is only 1 simultaneous user. If you get a message that there are no more logins for this database, try again in a few minutes.
An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past
(1 simultaneous user)
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. It is overseen by academic editors at Oxford University, UK, and published by Oxford University Press.