It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Summon, our Web Scale Discovery software, allows you to easily find content in e-Reference books. It does not cover ALL our e-Reference books, but most are covered.
The box above allows you to search Summon for only reference material. You may want to add further filters, such as date and discipline (look at the left hand column). Remember that you will turn up both kinds of reference article, the short kind and the more detailed kind. Also in some cases you will not be directed to the specific article, but rather to the homepage of the reference book. Just search the topic you want (it will be on the sidebar to the right) and you will find the article.
Selected e-Reference Books
This is just a sampling of the many reference books available. Use the search box above to find reference articles or browse the collections to the right.
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the world's most comprehensive reference product, a distinction it has held since its first publication in 1768. The online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica has hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.
Features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.
Credo is a vast online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. And Credo brings the facts alive with images, sound files, animations, videos and much more. Find speedy, simple answers and full in-depth articles.
Current Biography Illustrated offers the content of the printed monthly magazine Current Biography, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, in searchable, electronic format
Readers will be able to find accurate, up-to-date biographies drawing information from newspaper articles, magazine articles, and books. Students and patrons can search by name, profession, place of origin, gender, ethnicity, birth/death dates, titles of works and key words for more than 25,000 articles and obituaries.
In addition, profiles maintained in this database feature more than 19,500 images, and offer the subject's own views, attitudes and commentary as well as the commentaries of other journalists and colleagues.
Features more than 4,200 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles.
•Topic browse spanning the life sciences from cell biology to ecology
•Topic coverage reviewed by a distinguished international scientific advisory team
•Overviews and Suggested Articles to help students learn about topics
•Key Concepts explaining critical learning points for the reader
•Open availability of Abstracts, Key Concepts and Keywords
•Open availability of high-quality illustrations
•Open availability of References and Further Reading
•In-text hyperlinks directly linking related eLS articles
•New and updated articles added on a monthly basis
•Updated articles clearly linked to earlier versions
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories
SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content making this the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. This expansive collection includes:
•Reference works including handbooks and encyclopedias
•Professional development titles
•Textbooks – core and supplementary
•Major works series
E-reference collection covering Literature (the Critical Insights series) , History (the Decades Encyclopedias, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History) Health (Infectious Diseases, Magill's Medical Guide 7thed., Psychology and Mental Health) and Science (Forensic Science, Environmental Issues)