Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Studies - Food in American History: e-Reference

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online

This is a collection of Reference books from Oxford University Press. It includes Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America


ABC-Clio e-Book Collection

ABC-Clio e-Book Collection 

ABC-CLIO e-Book collection is a growing collection of reference books on many different subjects. All the titles can also be found in the catalog. You can search across titles or browse the collection

Includes Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food

Salem History

Salem Online

Includes: the Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American
history series - covers the 1920s, 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s

Using Summon to Find e-Reference

Summon, our Web Scale Discovery software, allows you to easily find content in e-Reference books.  It does not cover ALL our e-Reference books, but most are covered.

The box above allows you to search Summon for only reference material.  You may want to add further filters, such as date and discipline (look at the left hand column).  Remember that you will turn up both kinds of reference article, the short kind and the more detailed kind.  Also in some cases you will not be directed to the specific article, but rather to the homepage of the reference book.  Just search the topic you want (it will be on the sidebar to the right) and you will find the article.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library

An ever-expanding collection of reference books.  Includes Company histories, an Encyclopedia of Diets etc.  Are you looking for the history of a food company - look here!

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an online reference collection, and it features full-text content from

hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Includes among many other excellent reference books – The Cambridge World History of Food