It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Studies - Food in American History: Primary Source Articles
America's Historical Newspapers gives full image access to Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829-1922) and Pennsylvania Historical Newspapers.
delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the Eighteenth, Nineteenth, and Twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the Eighteenth and Nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 160 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 5.5 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements.
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory (a tab on this database's page) to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times dating back to the 1851 and covering up to the last three years.
The full text of the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to the last three years (will always have a three year lag from the present). Images of the actual texts of articles and of the full page on which the articles appear are presented. Supplements, including the Magazine and the Book Review, are present.
Provides full text and full image for the Philadelphia Inquirer 1860-2001.
THE PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER, one of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, is known for its coverage of the American Civil War that was popular with readers on both sides; its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. From the first shots fired upon Fort Sumter and the start of the Civil War, to the assassination of civil rights advocate Octavius V. Catto over the right for Blacks to vote; from the flu pandemic of 1918 that killed 12,000 Philly residents in one month — and 675,000 in all nationwide — to the debut of a local dance show, American Bandstand in 1952, The Philadelphia Inquirer offers a regional perspective of an exceptionally unique mix of historical events as they unfolded. For researchers on a range of subjects, such as American History and culture, African American studies, literature and economics, the digitized pages of this prestigious newspaper — founded with an editorial commitment to the right of a minority to set forth its opinions, “however discordant they may be with those of the majority” — are an accessible, insightful, invaluable resource.
Full text, full image coverage of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786-2003
NEARLY AS OLD as the United States itself, the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette performed one of its initial acts of public service by printing the newly adopted Constitution of the United States in 1787. Then a four-page weekly produced on a wooden press, Post-Gazette was the first newspaper to make the dangerous journey by wagon over the mountains from Philadelphia. The Post-Gazette went on to offer leading coverage of the U.S. westward expansion into Ohio and the Northwest Territory, the political unrest leading to the U.S. Civil War, and the industrial revolution—from coal mining to the rise of the steel industry. Andrew Carnegie. Henry Clay Fricke. Andrew Mellon. H.J. Heinz. United States Steel Corp. The Homestead Steel Strike. The Pittsburgh Steelers. Carnegie-Mellon Library. And so much more. All covered in the pages of the historical Post-Gazette. Today, the daily publication – winner of six Pulitzer Prizes since 1938 – is the largest daily newspaper serving metropolitan Pittsburgh. Reporting news in a city that was once considered the industrial center of a nation, and now considered an education and medical hub, this newspaper offers researchers valuable regional perspectives on international, national and local news.
The New York Times Historical Newspaper, The Philadelphia Inquirer Historical Newspaper and the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Historical Newspaper are all from the ProQuest Historical Newspaper Collection. There are some differences in searching the New York Times from the two Pennsylvania papers.
Provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. With 1.8 million pages available, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the Nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end.
Newspaper titles include:
New York Herald (NY)
Lynchburg Virginian (VA)
Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI)
Rocky Mountain News (CO)
Southern Illustrated News (VA)
Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago)
Milwaukee Sentinel (WI)
The Bee (OH)
The Mountaineer (SC)
Represents the largest single collection of Seventeenth and Eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.
Searchable access to more than 100 years of coverage from 375 leading U.S. magazines. Quality indexing of leading magazines back as far as 1890. Please note this is not a full text database. You must use the LibKey link either to link to an article or to submit an ILL for one.
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. The Time Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
The Modernist Journals Project is a multi-faceted project that aims to be a major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922, and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published.