Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Research: Finding Articles

Articles

Multidisciplinary databases will usually cover film among other subjects-

 

ProQuest Central

  • Indexes and abstracts academic journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.  Multidisciplinary
  • Includes full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present
  • Many resources are available in full text

LexisNexis Academic 

  • Contains the full text of articles from 300 daily newspapers published throughout the United States, articles from hundreds of news, business, and general interest periodicals.
  • Contains legal information including cases, legal codes and law reviews

  • Get video tips on searching Lexis Nexis

Ebscohost Databases

Allows users to cross-search some or all the Ebscohost Databases.  Databases include:

The Nation, New Republic and National Review - all of which have film reviews

In addition:

  • America: History and Life
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Cinahl
  • PsycInfo
  • PsycArticles
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
  • Education Research Complete
  • ATLA Religion Database
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • MLA International Directory of Periodicals
  • SocIndex

 

Film Literature Index

Film Literature Index

Coverage from 1976-2001

The Film Literature Index annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. Covers 1976-2001.  To discover if we own the periodical you will need to run PERIODICAL search in the LIBRARY CATALOG

JSTOR & Project Muse

JSTOR

JSTOR is a collection of full-text, keyword-searchable academic journals dating back to the late 17th century. Full text is available up to the last 3 - 5 years for most titles (Moving Wall). JSTOR allows browsing by title or by discipline(s) , and full text searching of individual titles or the entire collection. Disciplines covered include Economics.

 

Media History Digital Library

Media History Digital Library

The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning

The collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines such as these listed below.  You’ll find more material and options at the Collections page.

 

▽  Broadcasting (1931-1956)
▽  Business Screen (1938-1973)
▽  Cine-Mundial (1916-1946)
▽  Close Up (1927-1933)
▽  The Film Daily (1918-1948)
▽  International Photographer (1929-1941)
▽  Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers (1916-1949)
▽  Journal of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (1950-1954)
▽  The Educational Screen (1922-1962)
▽  Modern Screen (1930-1960)
▽  Motion Picture [Magazine] (1914-1941)
▽  Motion Picture Daily (1931-1960)
▽  Motion Picture News (1913-1930)
▽  Motion Picture News Booking Guide (1922-25)
▽  Moving Picture World (1907-1919)
▽  Photoplay (1914-1940)
▽  Radio Age: Research, Manufacturing, Communications, Broadcasting, Television (1942-1957)
▽  Radio Broadcast (1922-1930)
▽  Screenland (1920-1960)
▽  Sponsor (1946-1964)
▽  Talking Machine World (1906-1928)
△  Variety (1905-1941)