Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Research: e-Reference

  ABC-Clio e-Book Collection

Credo Reference

Using Summon to Find e-Reference

Summon, our Web Scale Discovery software, allows you to easily find content in e-Reference books.  It does not cover ALL our e-Reference books, but most are covered.

The box above allows you to search Summon for only reference material.  You may want to add further filters, such as date and discipline (look at the left hand column).  Remember that you will turn up both kinds of reference article, the short kind and the more detailed kind.  Also in some cases you will not be directed to the specific article, but rather to the homepage of the reference book.  Just search the topic you want (it will be on the sidebar to the right) and you will find the article.

 

Gale Film Research

The Gale Virtual Reference Library is made up of e-Reference books.  We add to the collection all the time. There are some excellent fiilm reference titles which are searchable as one collection

Film e-Reference

This collection is made up of the following e-Reference books:

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (4 volumes)

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (4 volumes)

History of the American Cinema (10 volumes)

Gale Literature

Includes discussion and criticism of major films and filmmakers.

Screen Decades

Screen Decades: American Culture/American Cinema

This series covers all the decades of the American screen from the 1890s to the present Includes overviews on the films themselves (under Themes and Variations volumes) and also Star Decades (covering the movie stars of each decade.)  Some of the books are in print, while others are e-books.