Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INST 105/106: Books

Find Books

To find books in the Connelly Library search the catalog.

            catalog link

e-Reference

The Connelly Library has been creating a collection of electronic versions of Reference Books for a number of years.

These e-books are an excellent place to start doing research on a subject.  The articles you can find in them will give you background information, provide ideas for narrowing or refocussing your search and usually include a list of further readings which will give you a good start on finding the best material available on your topic.

How do you find articles in these books?

There are a number of ways

1. Use Summon to find e-Reference, as explained in the box to the right.

2. Try checking the e-Reference Collections found on the tab in this LibGuide.  There are descriptions of the topics covered.  When you search these collections, you are searching the full text of the articles in the books.

3Use our catalog to identify e-Reference materials.

Ebook Central (from ProQuest)

Ebook Central (from Proquest) 

This database (formerly ebrary) provides over 150,000 authoritative ebooks in a range of subjects from the world's top publishers. Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.

You can find Ebook Central books by searching directly on the Ebook Central Platform.  You will also find Ebook Central books when you are searching Summon as they are all searchable there as well.  They are also searchable through the Connelly Library Catalog. 

We have a LibGuide just for Ebook Central.  It offers help on searching, downloading and navigating. Please note that if you already had an ebrary login, you can use that on Ebook Central.