Skip to main content

Using the Library: Finding Articles

Summon Search Box

When you get onto the Summon page, you will have the opportunity to change the language of the display - look in the top right hand corner.

LibGuides

 LibGuides will guide you in finding the right subject databases for your topic.  
 

  JSTOR

JSTOR

JSTOR is a collection of full-text, keyword-searchable academic journals dating back to the late 17th century. Full text is available up to the last 3 - 5 years for most titles (Moving Wall). JSTOR allows browsing by title or by discipline(s) , and full text searching of individual titles or the entire collection.


Databases for finding Articles

To find articles on any subject you must first use databases which index periodicals like journals, magazines and newspapers.  Connelly Library has many databases on different subjects, all of which are listed here in the Complete Database List. You can also search databases by Subject to see what one fits your topic.

 

Some good general databases with a great deal of fulltext are shown below:

 ProQuest Central

  • Indexes and abstracts academic journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.  Multidisciplinary
  • Includes full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984-present
  • Many resources are available in full text

LexisNexis Academic 

  • Contains the full text of articles from 300 daily newspapers published throughout the United States, articles from hundreds of news, business, and general interest periodicals.
  • Contains legal information including cases, legal codes and law reviews

  • Get video tips on searching Lexis Nexis

Gale PowerSearch

Allows users to cross-search the content of multiple Gale databases in the Connelly Library's collection at one time, including any Gale Virtual Reference Library eBooks titles and the Opposing Viewpoints database. Includes both e-books and periodical articles.

Ebscohost Databases

Allows users to cross-search some or all the Ebscohost Databases.  Databases include:

  • America: History and Life
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Cinahl
  • PsycInfo
  • PsycArticles
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
  • Education Research Complete
  • ATLA Religion Database
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • MLA International Directory of Periodicals
  • SocIndex

Training videos for using EBSCOHost are available